help exchange   Host 18552
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18552
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2020

We live on a small farm in a beautiful valley leading down to Gore Bay beach, a safe surfing and swimming beach. Heb is a joiner and cabinet maker and makes furniture in his workshop on the property while Maria is a part-time teacher.
Apart from us, Aya, the dog and Chica, the cat live here, as well as 60 black and white sheep who graze the hill and paddocks below and a few chickens.
We also have quite a large vegetable garden and a number of fruit and nut trees.

We like having people here helping us with various tasks like gardening, fruit picking and preserving, firewood making, painting, building and/or cooking and some house cleaning, depending on what needs to be done and your abilities and strengths.We expect 4 to 5 hrs work per day in exchange for food and lodging.

Accommodation is in a little cottage not far from the house.
There are some nice coastal and inland walks here in this area; Cheviot also houses galleries and cafes. Kaikoura and Hanmer Springs are 45 min to 1 hour drive from here.
We`re looking for people with practical skills all year round but mostly in spring, summer and autumn.

reviews (6)
Helper: Mathieu mathieu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 9, 2019
Hi, I have stayed 3 weeks with Maria and Heb. And I had a wonderfull time. Th... view complete review

Helper: Anthony and Marie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 22, 2019
We can't put more than five stars ? Damn ! We spent one wonderful week wi... view complete review

Helper: Madeline and Florent Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 11, 2017
We spend one week with Heb & Maria in march 2016 and it was awesome! They own... view complete review

Helper: Max Laure Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: October 10, 2016
This was my first experience as a helper, and it was perfect! I spent 10 day... view complete review

Helper: Golo and Melissa Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: March 12, 2014
Heb and Maria own a very beautiful lifestyle block, including a vegetable gar... view complete review

Helper: Tim and Anne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 7, 2013
We spent a week at Maria and Heb. They have a very large beautiful ground wit... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use