help exchange   Host 18582
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Princeton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 18582
Region: Southwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2019

Who We Are:
I am a landscape designer, music hippie, and eco-friendly tree hugger. My 11-year-old granddaughter lives with me part-time and is a vivacious free spirit with bundles of wit and charm. We also have a close-knit community of friends, family, and neighbors who frequently pop in and out.

Where We Live:
We have a beautiful 15 acres in the North Texas country-side. While there is a very rural feeling to the property, we are only a 15 minute car ride from historical McKinney and less than an hour from the DFW airport. Our little farm is organic with herb/veggie gardens, chickens for eggs, and great hiking trails. We also have a beautiful fire pit, an above-ground swimming pool, an outdoor kitchen, a trampoline, a tree fort loft, and lots of space to roam and stretch out.

Our Petting Zoo:
We have lots of furry friends!
6 dogs, 4 chickens, 3 cats, 2 horses, and 1 pig.
Must love animals to stay here! :)

Our Venue:
In addition to being a small farm, we hold live concerts for local Texas country and Americana musicians. Check out Back*Yard Brickworks on Facebook!

What We Need Help With:

***Currently looking for helpers with landscaping experience. Depending on skill levels helpers have an opportunity for paid landscape work. Drive license required.

Depending on your skills and interests, helpers can assist with feeding the animals, cleaning the barn, cooking, household chores, managing social media, stone/brick work, horse maintenance, and gardening, among other things. Preference given to helpers who can drive!
We are always felling, cutting, splitting, and stacking wood, as this is our only source of heat and we cook with wood frequently outside. Chainsaw fans are needed!
Other upcoming projects include remodeling a 70's Scotty Highlander camping trailer, creating a craft room. We welcome your project ideas as well!
We would especially love someone who can help with my granddaughter- driving to and from school and other activities, helping with homework, light nanny duties, etc...and a big sense of fun of course

Roughly 5 hours of work per day, 5 days per week.

Where You Stay:
If you are travelling in a camper or RV and like your own space we have plenty of room here at the farm for you.

Helpers will stay in a comfortable private room in the main house with a shared bathroom. Meals and chores are typically shared. This is not a vegan home, but you are welcome to cook for yourself. The house is clean and cozy, with a warm lived-in atmosphere. We love delicious food, drinking around the fire, dancing in the kitchen, and sharing good conversation with friends new and old!

reviews (7)
Helper: Den's West Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 5, 2017
Rhonda is a fantastic person with a huge heart. His house which is in his ima... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Marie and Simon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 30, 2016
Rhonda est une personne très agréable qui aime échanger et renvontrer. Nou... view complete review

Helper: Kim Davies Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: December 24, 2015
Staying with Rhonda was like staying with a friend, we had great chats, laugh... view complete review

Helper: Daniela and Nicolas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Mexico Date: April 5, 2015
If you want to fell as a guest not as a helper, go with Rhonda, since the fis... view complete review

Helper: Steve Olson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: March 10, 2015
We had such a great time with Rhonda and Rodney! They are excellent hosts and... view complete review

Helper: Amandine and Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 23, 2014
WOW! What can I say!!! We came as strangers and left as friends, that would b... view complete review

Helper: Sherry and Michael Daniel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 1, 2013
We had a wonderful time with Rhonda and Randy! We drove out to Backyard Brick... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use