help exchange   Host 18722
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18722
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 19, 2017

Lovely modern home in bush setting 10 mins drive from GPO. On bus route. Peaceful and secluded. A busy family of 5 with 2 school aged children. Extensive native garden area.. Jobs include garden maintenance, animal care (chickens), housework, assisting with landscaping and building projects. The main tasks this summer will be lots of weeding and clearing/pruning to help get the garden back on track. You will need to be able to work independently and enjoy physical outdoor work. An improvement in fitness guaranteed!

We generally ask for 4-5 hours in exchange for accommodation and meals as negotiated. We do not supply meals on days off - but of course you are welcome to use facilities to supply and prepare your own if you are around.

Hours are flexible and negotiable depending on individual needs. We will be busy coming and going with work, managing our kids schedules in the holidays etc. We usually try to all share the evening meal together. Staying with us would suit independent and self-motivated people who would like to work for accommodation and use our place as a base to explore Hobart and surrounds in their free time. It is also a very peaceful place to relax and read and hangout! We ask that helpers be honest, reliable and trustworthy, as well as have their own travel insurance. Please no smoking on the property.

We enjoy healthy living, food, travel, music, meeting people, sharing ideas and experiences and cultural exchange. We have travelled extensively, including 3 years in Japan. We enjoy the outdoors and camping, and there are many walking tracks nearby our home. We have a varied and healthy diet and love to try new foods. We invite help with meal preparation and tidy up and at times helpers will need to prepare own meals if we are out.

We have jobs for all levels of experience. Helpers with permaculture design, landscaping and stonework experience would be greatly appreciated.

There is plenty of wildlife visiting us throughout the day and night. We border bushland, but are still conveniently very close to the city with views of the mountain and walking tracks nearby. Please note we have a cat.

We are unable to sign 2nd year visas.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use