help exchange   Host 18942
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

1 hr west Melbourne
All Year: no - only spring & summer
Area (ha): 340
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18942
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2016

We are looking for help from the middle of Feb 20th 2016 onwards. We would love a helper or helpers who can help with our two children 3 and a half and 10 months old., or if you have building/ renovating experience as we are renovating a bathroom and kitchen. Some farm work needed to, cattle work, gardening, spraying weeds etc.

Most suited for a couple or two friends travelling together as you will have your own furnished house, and do your own cooking etc.

Real Australian farm experience. We have 1,000 acres with 220 cows and 250 sheep, have 12 horses, 2 cats and 2 dogs.

We would like 1 - 2 people to stay minimum of 2 weeks up to 8 weeks, (most of our helpers want to stay on as long as they can!) Own car is good, however we have a car we can supply to helpers for local use so drivers licence required.

We have a separate old farm house available on the property which you will have full use of. The house is well set up with TV, DVD player, double bed etc. NO WIFI. The house is over 100 years old and will need some basic cleaning and maintenance particularly for our first helpers. We have not had any helpers stay over winter as it has been too cold, although the weather now is good!!

The house is fully set up for you to stay with a double bed in the main bedroom,
All food is paid for by us, and the helper is to do own shopping & cooking. The kitchen is set up with everything you need to cook.
We will also supply farm fresh eggs and delicious grass fed beef & lamb from our property.
There is a good fridge, pantry, stove & microwave available.

In exchange for accommodation & food we ask for 4 - 5 hours help per day 5 days per week
Some work is dependant on the weather, and sometimes on the weekend we need help at horse events looking after the children.

Help is needed for the following things:

Help with our children - In the afternoon / evening we may need some help with the kids while we ride our horses and get dinner ready. This includes playing games, painting drawing, reading books etc.

Horses - we have up to 12 horses, 5 - 6 are competition horses. We need help feeding, putting rugs on & off, , catching, brushing, saddling, lunging and also on weekends helping at competitions. Some riding may be available to experienced horse people once they have stayed 4 weeks.

spraying weeds. This is done with a 5 - 10 litre backpack that you carry on your back. You will need to be able to drive a manual car (around the farm)

Gardening: Helping restore our garden to being fabulous as it was many years ago...

Farm work: Feeding the chickens, collecting eggs, feeding & rugging the horses, tidying and clearing up.

Handiwork: if suitable both houses need some "love" with building, painting, repairing and so on

You will need suitable clothes to protect you from the sun, long sleeved shirt, good shoes, sun hat, glasses, gloves (if you have them, if not that's fine). Some of the work will be dirty and dusty.

We are quite central in Victoria and close the Melbourne (1 hours drive or train), Ballarat (45 minutes), & lots of lovely things to see and do.

Our last helpers stayed nearly four months it was a great experience for us and them. We like long our helpers to stay longer than two weeks as we like getting to know them and it also helps with the routine on our farm. We can sign off second year VISA.

We have a 3 year old daughter and a 6 month old baby boy. It suits if our helpers are independent and happy to cook/ look after themselves (everything is supplied) as we are often very very busy!!!

We love meeting new people and feel we have been so blessed as all of our helpers who have stayed have been terrific and we have made some very good friends.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use