help exchange   Host 19194
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


GRENFELL
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 106
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19194
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2018

Experience farm life in Australia on our beautiful small farm in the Central West of NSW, 12 km from the town of Grenfell.

(We are mot lookimg for helpers at the moment)

Trained horse riders are especially welcome. However occasional riders or people with limited experience (or just basic riding school experience) may not be able to ride our horses as they are performance horses and need to be ridden properly.

We can host one person, two friends or a couple and we are looking for someone to help with caring for horses, feeding orphan lambs and an orphan calf and general farm help. If you can cook that would be a bonus and you are welcome to stay for up to 4 weeks or 6 weeks if you really settle here.

Please note we do not take helpers short term for less than 3 weeks and we do not take kindly to people who come and enjoy our hospitality but are not prepared to work. Or those that have the idea that they will be racing around our paddocks mustering cattle on quads or horses every day. If you are one of these people please go elsewhere. We do not stress our animals.

We are a working farm we feed out cattle daily during this drought and it can be hot and dusty please do not ask to come unless you are prepared for the conditions. However our house and and garden is lovely and we do not work people too hard just 5 hours a day and two days off a week usually weekends.

If you like being outdoors, can drive a quad bike and or a car and have respect for our machinery. And and don't mind helping out at 8am with feeds then contact us.

Please we ask for motivated, fun, honest, hard working, a love animals and happy to help when needed, we would love to hear from you.

We have 7 horses, a foal, beef cattle (a bull, 21 cows and 16 new calves), 6 pet sheep and lambs, 2 dogs, 3 ducks, a guinea fowl and chickens. All the animals are friendly and well-behaved.

Work varies from gardening to mending fences, feeding and caring for horses, cattle ,dogs and poultry.

Our big brick homestead was built in 1917 and sits on a hill overlooking a picturesque valley, among other farms growing wheat, canola, sheep and beef cattle. You will see lots of birds, kangaroos, wallabies and stars. The nearest neighbour is 1 km away.

We eat a varied diet. You are welcome to sometimes cook and to help with housework, keeping your room and bathroom tidy.

You will have your own big bedroom with double or queen-size bed in a sprawling traditional Australian country homestead, all meals and outings with us when we go anywhere.

We have TV, WiFi, bbq, washing machine, dishwashers and 15m swimming pool. Tidy, well behaved people only. Tell us if you have any special needs, eg vegetarian. Sometimes we ask helpers to look after the farm if we have to go away.

We can tell you how to get here by car or can pick you up from the train or bus at Bathurst, Harden or Cootamundra or train/bus/air at Canberra.

Photos show the homestead, pool, horse riding, cattle, lambs and kangaroos.

reviews (12)
Helper: Johann and Melanie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 26, 2018
Many thank's to Jenny and John for an amazing month spent with them ! We rea... view complete review

Helper: Potier and Roucher Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 12, 2018
I stayed at Jenny’s with my partner for a bit less than two weeks in oct/nov ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Hélène Joyau Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 27, 2018
I had an amazing experience to John & Jenny's. I felt like if I was at home. ... view complete review

Helper: Loelia and Emilie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 23, 2018
We stayed 5 weeks with John and Jenny and it was our first experience in a fa... view complete review

Helper: Josefin El-Mahdy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 19, 2017
Jenny and John are literally the best hosts I could ever imagine! Thank you s... view complete review

Helper: Elisabeth and Viviane Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 4, 2017
We had an amazing time at Jenni and John's place. They were our first HelpX e... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Peter and Renske Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: August 19, 2017
John and Jenny were our first hosts through helpx. They've set the standard ... view complete review

Helper: Nora and Alina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: February 9, 2017
We stayed here for a month and had an amazing time! John and Jenny are both s... view complete review

Helper: Larchet charline Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 25, 2015
I stayed 5 weeks in John and Jenny's Farm. It was great. I loved the house an... view complete review

Helper: Géraldine ROBIN Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 8, 2014
I stayed 3 weeks with Jenny and John, most wonderful people ever :-) I would ... view complete review

Helper: Lynn and Cookie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: September 14, 2013
Sorry that we write the review so late because of our buy study at the begi... view complete review

Helper: Michelle Tagg Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: April 18, 2013
Myself and my boyfriend went to Jenny and John's home for a 10 day stay to he... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use