help exchange   Host 19202
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Drummond
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19202
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2019

*** Could you state *first* in your message:
Proposed Helping Dates:
Length of stay:
- that makes it much easier to manage our revolving door of wonderful adventurers and respond quickly! We probably won't get time to answer if you don't give us this information!

************

We are a young family living in Drummond in the Central Highlands of Victoria. We have three small children (9-12yrs old), a couple of cats, a flock of chickens, bees and all the wildlife you can imagine! We live in a beautiful handmade stone house nestled in a beautiful tranquil valley.

We are located 1 hour 20 minutes by car from the centre of Melbourne. Or 1 hour 30 minutes by train from Malmsbury Train Station which is 7.3km from our house. Our home is perfectly situated in the heart of the region and a short drive to explore centres such as Kyneton, Daylesford/Hepburn Springs, Castlemaine, Trentham and our closest town of Malmsbury. Nature lovers will enjoy the state forest at the end of our street or just wandering around our property.

We moved to our farm from the inner suburbs of Melbourne where we were actively involved in a local permaculture group and ran a not for profit vegetable seedling nursery from our house.

Now we have 30 acres! We are converting the entire property into a permaculture designed landscape and we're looking for helpers who have an active interest in the design and construction process to help us along the way.

We offer food and accommodation in exchange for 20 hrs work per week, plus a fair share of housework. We require someone who is experienced at cooking and is able to cook at least one main meal a week.

We are on the look out for anyone who is skilled with their hands as we have a lot of construction work to be done as we assemble greenhouses and polytunnels, there's plenty of work to be done!

We love listening to French internet radio - FIP or LedJamRadio are excellent ways to wake up - http://www.fipradio.fr/

We have a room which is not enormous but has a single size bed, a set of drawers and kangaroos out the window in the morning! Access to all normal facilities, Netflix and fast wireless internet. We have a lot of room on the property so if you prefer to go a bit wild and camp outside we can help with that too. Just get in touch. Self sufficient campers are welcome too!

Inspired by hosting helpx travellers for many years, we spent 6 months on the road in 2016 circumnavigating Australia - so we have plenty of tips for travellers. We'd love to host anyone on their big lap! Most of our reviews below are from our previous home. As you can see there is no shortage of fun!

We prefer helpers who can stay for two weeks or more. If you are not able to stay that long we may not get time to reply to you as we get many inquiries. Sorry!

reviews (8)
Helper: Jeremy Geay Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 10, 2015
I stayed almost three weeks with Rayna, Karl and the gang. I had a great time... view complete review

Helper: Alexander Tellner Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Sweden Date: May 26, 2015
I just had the best time imaginable staying with these guys. Their listing wa... view complete review

Helper: Sandrine BEROT Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 5, 2015
Staying here was lovely. Basically my chores were to pick up the kids at scho... view complete review

Helper: Katie Cristiano Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 2, 2015
Forgive my oversight--this review is long overdue. Sorry for the delay! I ... view complete review

Helper: Stéphanie BALLEREAU Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 18, 2014
I've spent 2 weeks with Karl and their 3 adorable children. I arrived on a s... view complete review

Helper: Fiona Mackinnon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: October 26, 2014
A truly delightful family living an awesome life. Heartening to see in a ... view complete review

Helper: Margaux and Julien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 24, 2014
We spent a lovely week in this amazing family! The crazy house was very welco... view complete review

Helper: Guillermo Sande Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: February 14, 2013
This amazing couple with three kids lives in a very quite neighborhood in the... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use