help exchange   Host 19351
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mullumbimby
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19351
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 6, 2016

We have a blog for helpers with many photos and reviews, see blog link above.
Here is a summary.......
We have a 30 acre rainforest farm in the uppermost reaches of one of Byron Shire's most picturesque volcanic valleys, just 30 minutes from Byron Bay's golden beaches. Waterfalls drop into the back of our property which is overlooked by two world heritage national parks. We run it as a non-commercial (sustainable) organic farm, as well as a base for our crystal & mineral business, and traditional organic bakery. Following a fallow year, & January 2013 storm damage, we are now re-establishing our large & abundant veggie garden, adding a chicken run and developing our citrus & fruit tree orchard. Our property is spring fed, and we have 200m of vibrant platypus habitat creek running through it. It is a haven for wildlife, especially birds. We are a family with two kids, aged 9 & 7, and we are fortunate to have experienced very much of this world through many years of travelling. It is a testament to where we live that we chose this corner of paradise to throw down our roots. To bring this whole enterprise together, we enjoy the help & company of helpers from all over the world. There are always things to do, especially in tending to the land with the veggie garden, fruit trees, weeding and beautifying, landscaping, grass cutting, brush-cutting, collecting wood, watering, harvesting produce, and forestry work like nurturing our rainforest and keeping our spring alive and abundant. Help with vehicle mechanics is very welcome as we have farm machinery and cars that need attendance. In our crystal & mineral business there is always room for people with skills in computing, marketing, etc, as well as keeping things clean, neat, and tidy. Assistance in our workplace is always appreciated, and helpers always enjoy participating in this picturesque place. Help is also appreciated in the house with tidying, washing, cooking, teaching our kids about this amazing world, and general household maintenance. We eat very well, enjoying all types of food. Although we have been vegetarians & have had various dietary requirements in the past, we are now in a phase of our life where we eat most things. Our home might not suit you if you have specialist dietary needs, although we know of other hosts in our area who do cater for gluten-free, lactose-free, vegetarian, etc. We prefer (but don't insist on) helpers that are able to give us 3 weeks. During this time we will all know if a longer stay is viable. We have had helpers stay for many months when a rapport develops. We are about 25 minutes drive from Mullumbimby and there is no transport apart from us going shopping, dropping the kids at school, catching rides with neighbours, etc. Our farm is perfect if you like to be remote, but in a social community just 30 minutes from the fun and passions of Byron Bay. We hope you like the photos and will contact us if you are serious about joining our family. The aerial photo is across our farm (the open paddock in the centre-foreground) with the now-extinct volcano Wollumbin (Mt.Warning) in the distance.

reviews (15)
Helper: Emilie and Karolina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 13, 2016
We had a very lovely time with Wendy , Sean and the kids. We really like that... view complete review

Helper: Caroline Bricout Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 29, 2016
Sean and Wendy are the definition of how I want to be in 10 years (approximat... view complete review

Helper: Ludivine LAURENT Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 28, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay (1 month) in this warm and positive family. If it is... view complete review

Helper: Samy JACOB-THEOLEYRE Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 1, 2015
Hi everybody! This is an amazing family. I stayed 6 weeks and I hope to go ... view complete review

Helper: Andrea Geile Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 29, 2015
THEY ARE GREAT! I really enjoyed the awesome 10 days I could stay with Wendy,... view complete review

Helper: Karin Hindre Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Estonia Date: April 3, 2015
Exactly one year ago I was with this beautiful family having a Easter meal. I... view complete review

Helper: Nicolette Stellavato Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 11, 2015
Sean, Wendy and their children Ruby and Jet are so lovely to be around! They ... view complete review

Helper: Jules and Camille Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 14, 2014
We stayed for about a month at Sean and Wendy's place and were so happy to be... view complete review

Helper: Benjamin DUBREUIL Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 1, 2014
I was with the Mahoney's Family during a month and a half.. and i will never ... view complete review

Helper: Asia Ferrero Merlino Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: August 3, 2014
I stay 3 weeks with Sean, Wendy, Ruby-Staar and Jet in their beautiful proper... view complete review

Helper: Silvia Franzi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: August 3, 2014
I spent nearly 3 weeks with Sean and Wendy and it was a good experience. The ... view complete review

Helper: Deborah and Dani Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 25, 2014
Amazing place with awesome family ! We stayed 2 weeks with Mahoney's family a... view complete review

Helper: Luke Bright Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 25, 2014
I stayed with the Mahoney family for 3 weeks over Christmas. I was instantly ... view complete review

Helper: Elena Bignotti Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: December 16, 2013
I've happily decided to apply for my 2WHV appreciating the Australia countrys... view complete review

Helper: Alison Cheng Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: February 15, 2013
I was their first helpXer after they became a helpX host. I stayed with Mahon... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use