help exchange   Host 19495
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 13 (5.26)
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19495
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 11, 2020

There are 13 acres here and we grow medicinal herbs for resale and making medincines. It's located in the beautiful hills of west cork, not far from the sea, which you can see from the top of the hill. We are close enough to Bantry town about 15 km and 4 km from our local shop. There is a bicycle available for use, hitching is very easy here and lifts are available. The house is an old renovated farm house, warm and cosy with hemp plastering and a modern heating system that uses a wood fire and solar tubes. So plenty of hot water! Downstairs is communual with workers and upstairs has 4 bedrooms of which 2 will be free again in about 3 weeks.
We are looking for someone to help plant the orchard on the new land below the river by the road. I am putting in an office, storage and decking so we can sell our plants directly to the public and offer some co-operative food production within the local community. We have just done some earth works and will be putting in some concrete bases for the decking. I have a carpenter (Pete) living here on a semi permanenet basis but he's an older guy, so someone young and fit. Barrowing and digging.
the baby plants will be arriving in about a month, when we will start to get very busy. Help in the house and around the tunnels. As well single people, this might suit two friends, a couple or small family who like to look after themselves, can cook and light fires. I am away working generally about 3 days a week, either locally and coming home late or in Limerick or Dublin where I stay the nights. Pete the carpenter is here all the time as a long term helpx and lives in the mobile home.
In exchange for 25 flexible hours each, we offer full bed and board in our beautiful house, plenty of wood for the fire, help to get to the places you want to go and a friendly easy going atmosphere.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use