help exchange   Host 19551
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Toronto
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19551
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 30, 2020

Update March 30: Due to the ongoing Coronavirus, our house has decided to request a 2 week quarantine inside our house. We have a small bedroom available where you can stay. During the quarantine, it is no problem spending time outside or going for walks. You can also work with us while wearing a mask and gloves. We will bring you meals to your room. After two weeks you can fully join us. So far no one living here has gotten sick.

Especially looking for people with renovation skills/interest for our new kitchen/dining room project that is underway (now until at least end of April). Also there will some cooking, cleaning and website work.

Note: We don't always book people many months in advance, we prefer to wait until closer to the start dates so we can see how much space we have. Some people here stay longer than they initially planned so we don't always know the timing of openings long in advance.

If you would like to help, please let us know your range of availability and preferred length of stay.

We are a 12-person vegetarian community house in Toronto. My name is Steve and living here is also Adonia (Canada, originally from Romania), Rael and Melanie (from France), Neslihan (from Turkey), Narjiss (from Morocco), Elia (Russia/Israel), Swetha (from India), Vishal, Alison and Sarah (from Canada) plus one or two shorter term guests or helpers.

Toronto is a great place to visit with vibrant neighbourhoods, bike-friendly streets, lots of festivals, farmers' markets, waterfront parks and an island park you can reach by ferry. etc.

We are looking for people who are either older (our house is mostly made up of people in their mid 20's to early 50's) or those in their early 20's who already have some experience living independently.

We are especially open to people who are keen to try a vegetarian diet and interested in spiritual activities like meditation, chanting, yoga and/or prayer. We are a spiritually-focused house. Most of us practice a faith of one form or another.

We typically make daily vegan meals (feasts) and often a breakfast or other preparations. We typically shop at farmers' markets and food co-ops.

We also have an environmental focus -- we are into natural building, avoiding plastic packaging and products, and not wearing/using chemically-scented products.

Are you OK with a chemical-free home? i.e: no perfumes, or scented soups, shampoos? Unless natural and organic.

Includes high speed internet, house phone and laundry soap. We have guest bikes available. To support a peaceful atmosphere, we are looking for those wanting to live without the distraction or temptation of TV and radio, cigarettes and alcohol.

We are located on a quiet street (1 block from the subway and very close to downtown). We have a large tree-shaded front porch and back deck. Our three storey house has eight bedrooms, a guest room and two bathrooms (soon to be three). We have an infrared cedar sauna and workshop in the basement.

Ecological features include using Bullfrog Power (green energy provider), front load washing machine, clothes lines for drying, low flush toilets, efficient fireplace insert where on cool nights we can burn scrap wood, a vegetable garden, and a low-on-the-food-chain vegetarian/vegan kitchen with an emphasis on organics and locally-grown foods.

Help:
We looking for about 4 hours per day in exchange for a sunny room, full use of the house and basic food ingredients. Our shared food is cooked from scratch, so the more help we get the better we all eat. :-) We can provide some training, and timing of work is flexible.

Volunteer work options:
Volunteer work options: We currently have plenty of renovation projects. We are working on some major design changes to create some large open spaces within the house (involving demolition, flooring, wiring, plumbing, cabinets, plastering, etc), such as building a new kitchen and dining area. And later replacing the stairs to the basement.

There is also cleaning and stuff to make in the kitchen. You can cook a full meal for the entire house, help others cook, or just make single shared items such as a soup, hummus, muffins, etc. We can teach you some of this.
Or helping to create recipes and cooking videos.
Other possibilities include leading a yoga session, art, crafts, sewing or gardening.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use