Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19733
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bradford on Avon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19733
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2018

I own a large self contained unit within a co-housing community on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon. We own about 2.5 hectares of beautiful land, with orchard, swimming pool, tennis court and other amenities. Some of us have our own organic vegetable plots.

I would like one or two volunteers (non-smokers please) to help with a variety of jobs, mostly gardening work on my vegetable plot or other outside tasks, or sometimes helping with practical jobs indoors such as decorating or cleaning.

In exchange for accommodation and meals, I would like approx 4-5 hours' work per day, which can be organised flexibly according to our respective needs.

You will have your own comfortable bedroom (or shared with another Helpx volunteer, if agreed). There is plenty of good quality fresh food to which you can help yourself for breakfast and lunch, and a cooked meal in the evening. I am mostly vegetarian and can cater for other diets by arrangement.

I can offer some help with English if needed (I have a CELTA qualification in TEFL) and can speak basic French, German and Spanish.

Sometimes there may be opportunities to stay and work with other households within the co-housing group. However much of the time you will be working on your own, as I go out to work 3 days per week.

Bradford on Avon is a lovely old town with historic buildings, river and canal. We are just a few miles from the beautiful city of Bath, with its famous Georgian architecture and Roman Baths (just over an hour's cycle ride along the canal). You are welcome to borrow a bike and there are also lots of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside.

reviews (7)
Helper: Stephen Murray Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: November 10, 2018
Thank's Viv and Francesca for hosting me. I enjoyed the stimulating conversat... view complete review

Helper: Alessandro mengozzi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: January 27, 2016
Viv is a great host, her house is confortable and cozy, and the food is very ... view complete review

Helper: Mary and Sean Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: May 3, 2015
We spent a week with Viv in April 2015 and had a great time. Most of our wor... view complete review

Helper: Iris Goffo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: July 1, 2014
Thank you very much Viv! You are a great host and a lovely person! I spent... view complete review

Helper: Kerstin Degener Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 29, 2014
This was the first time I tried helpx and it was a great success. For all tho... view complete review

Helper: Miquel Garcia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: August 19, 2013
You will be very lucky If you have the chance to stay in Frankleigh House, I'... view complete review

Helper: Annie ATGER Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 31, 2013
I spent 3 weeks in Viv's home, helping her inside and outside. It was my fir... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use