help exchange   Host 1993
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April-October
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: One
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1993
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 26, 2018

We are an English/French couple with two sons, a forteen year old called Logan and Kyrian, a little bundle of mischief who is 3 years old, living in south Correze on top of a hill with views of the Dordogne river valley. The area is very much wooded and hilly countryside, with lots of medieval villages and sites scattered around.
We inherited the farm (a typical Correzian farmhouse and stone barns) about fifteen years ago and we have been farming for the last twelve years- we produce organic veg for local markets and veg box schemes, as well as growing kiwi fruit and walnuts.
We tend to be quite open-minded, and believe in 'having a laugh' (its what keeps us sane when weeding!). There are often many people passing by (either friends or other volunteers) so even though we are quite isolated we still have a social life.
The area we farm is about two hectares, with a wide range of veg (we try to grow as many heirloom varieties as possible- this year we have over 30 varieties of tomatoes), so work will vary quite a bit. Our aim is to try and give people a chance to learn new skills or knowledge- so if you're completely inexperienced its really not a problem (as long as you're prepared to get a bit muddy and have an interest in organic farming/gardening). This year we could also do with help looking after our son Kyrian as we are opening a shop that provides 'virtual reality experiences' (a completely new venture for us) and we will be quite busy, si if farming is not your thing then assistance with looking after our son and helping with some household chores would also be appreciated!
Usually we ask that volunteers work 25 hours per week, divided as they wish (e.g. work during the week leaving week-ends free) and that they stay for a minimum of two weeks; in exchange we offer accomodation in the farmhouse with us, all meals (again either self-catering or eat with us; we're not veggie but we can cater for those who are), bikes to explore the area, ADSL internet access for those who'd like it, the opportunity to learn French (we are both fluent in English and French) and hopefully an interesting experience of country living.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use