help exchange   Host 19936
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


County Galway
All Year: no
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19936
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2019

THE INFORMATION BELOW IS 7 SEASONS OLD
TO SEE WHAT WE HAVE ACHIEVED SINCE LOOK UP THE LINKS TO FACEBOOK AND INSTAGRAM AND LEARN ABOUT 'AN GARRAÍ GLAS'

Organic Status: Growing vegetables this summer on land that has not been planted out in over ten years now
I am a 30 year old travelling galwayman seeking assistance around the house for most of 2013.
My name is Aonghus. I have WWOOFed on my travels in both Spain and Australia, have studied permaculture, work in construction and have decided to spend Spring and Summer working around the family property and farm in rural Conemara. Because of being away from home the land, out-buildings, and boundry walls are suffering from lack of attention!! They are getting no love at all!

So looking for enthusiastic, down to earth travellers who like the outdoors and building/farming/labouring and learning!
Guests will be put up in their own spacious, well maintained 3 bedroom house on the property. The WWOOF accomodation has an open fireplace, electric shower, laundry and you will have your own kitchen for breakfast. Home made meals will be taken next door in the family house and will include much traditional country cooking!
Both houses with 8 acres of land are in the Irish speaking region of south Conemara overlooking Galway bay.
~The sea is a five minute walk away. Area is amazing. Galway city 30 minute drive one way, Mountains 30 minutes opposite direction.

Duties of work around the homes will involve digging, shifting soil and stone with wheelbarrows, much landscaping in fact, building- mostly stone walls( I am a qualified traditional stone wall builder) Clearing brambles and bracken fern and establishing a productive organic vegetable garden. We keep sheep as well.
Some of the interesting jobs coming up are;
- I need to build a wooden gate (from scratch) for the new vegetable garden plus a beautiful painted sign in the Irish language
-The wooden chalet that was built in the 60s and stands between our two homes needs to be painted.
-A boundry wall of recycled concrete block is to be built and then rendered in Cob(a mixture of clay, sand, straw and water)
-And a stone retaining wall is to be built for a neighbour which actually could result in paid work for wwoofers. Also I will be doing my own couple of retaining walls and stone cladding around the property so lots of learning to be done here..
And we got to go down to the sea and grab lots of lovely sea stones. ("clocha durling" in Irish) Got to remember to do that! There is a really creative plan floating around for covering a rounded concrete water tank in stone that will make it look like Neolithic Newgrange!

The working hours themselves will be mostly structured as I have had my own WWOOF experiences; with 2 and a half hours a little after breakfast and another 2 and a half hours after morning tea.
Usually rainy days are holidays and we can stretch out our working day when next the sun shines :) although if the stop-start nature of this does not suit there is some indoor painting can always be done when it rains.
I am very flexible and both myself and your cook- dear old mum- are very easy going!
For more information on what kind of place this is check out my profile on Couchsurfing, Over 200 surfers have crashed here, in the wwoofing accomodation over the years, many of them helping around the house and there is references a plenty there if you need convincing! ;)
Safe travels!

reviews (3)
Helper: Philip Broughton-Mills Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: October 15, 2013
Nice farm with nine sheep who stay out of the way. It's especially good becau... view complete review

Helper: Maximilien Vidal Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 1, 2013
A wonderful place and a nice man! During your work you can see the sea and th... view complete review

Helper: Raul Mateos Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: April 17, 2013
It is a beautiful family, in one of the Irelanda.'s best zones the house is p... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use