help exchange   Host 19979
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: all year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 (or more!)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19979
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 5, 2019

Dear helpxers,

Helps has been a wonderful part of the English full-immersions camps we run for Italian Children, HS Kids, Actors, Sculptors & Cooks. We are looking for one person (or two friends or a couple) to come this fall around October 28th or so to help with the winter mini-weekends we run for Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. We're looking for someone who loves spending time with children and is interested in theater, art, or cooking. We are a group of teachers, a team, but it is always so good to have new people join us. Ideally, you would be able to stay through about January 4th or 5th, because I will be going to NYC and need someone to house-sit and look after our saintly dog, William. The house/school is very big; you would be very welcome to have friends or family come to stay with you for the Christmas holidays and new year's. So it would be good if you like dogs, too. I am here to answer questions and we usually skype, too ... Hope to hear from some of you soon. Best to all, Jenny (Davide is very busy at the moment so I am writing here).

We have continued to have wonderful experiences with helpx; thank you all so much!!! Now, we are looking for

I. We are looking for one person or two friends or a couple who like being in the country and spending time with children (7-15) and who if possible are interested in art, cooking, or theater to be counselors or assistant counselors for HS Kids, Actors, Sculptors and Cooks,our full-immersion English summer camp for Italian children ages 7 to 15. HS Kids is organized in week-long sessions; often our little students come for two weeks. Please don't worry, you don't have to be a teacher to help out at HS Kids -- actually we love having artists or people who work in theater as part of our community, too; in any case, we will train you and help you!) Children at HS Kids act, do art projects (doesn’t have to be sculpture; some years they paint or do collage) and bake cakes and cookies — all as a way to learn English by living the language.
We are like a little community and children and staff have a lot of fun together going for walks, picking and arranging flowers, swimming in the spring (with a beautiful waterfall!) nearby so the program has both art and nature as its focus. You would do 6-8 hours five days a week, and then be free Saturdays and Sundays until 5:00 pm, or some weeks all day Sunday,too. We want to be sure you have time to explore the local area with its many beautiful cities (starting with Assisi of course!).

We are looking for helpxers who can do at least 3 weeks between

June 16th - September 9th

We give priority to people who can stay longer. so if you can (or even be here for the whole period), that would be great!! We will do preliminary training on skype, but training also occurs, of course, once you're here. We want it to be a good experience for you and want you to feel comfortable and confident with things.We'll give you as much freedom as you'd like (to come up with activities, etc) but are also there with lots of activities we've already done and to be a support system.

We will try to work with your dates, particularly if this really seems like the right experience for you! ... So if you have different dates, send them along and let's see what we can do!
And, oh yes... your English really has to be very good!

II. We are also looking for:
Someone to work in the garden in May and the first two weeks of June and

III Someone to be here who loves children and can help with basic maintenance, dishes, cooking, gardening, the occasional meal, driving (not necessarily all of these but at least some) for the whole period. Two friends or a couple is also fine, too.

Look forward to hearing from you! Best from Assisi, and, of course if you have questions about any of this, please do send them along.


PS Davide is very busy with new teaching job in experimental school so I am writing here instead.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use