help exchange   Host 20017
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ste Foy Le Grande
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20017
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 23, 2019

Hi there
If you love Animals, Art, Food, Wellbeing and meeting interresting people...and are not scared of hard work, then Le Peyrail is your perfect Help X venue for this Autumn / Winter
I am looking for someone or a couple who love the outdoors who would be able to help me winterise the garden. This will be a case of cutting back some of this years greenery, clearing terraces netting the pool and ponds and general maintenance around the house and horse field.
A little about myself -
I am an Artist/Picture restorer and I run an Arts Centre and Chambre d'Hotes just outside the ancient bastide town of Ste Foy La Grande. This year I intend introducing a "Well Being" aspect to our residential courses, with Organic Food, Meditation, Yoga and Tai Chi classes,. Le Peyrail is an oasis of calm and I think lends itself to this type of retreat.

I am happy hosting individuals as well as couples to help with my residential art courses and exhibition work.

I would love someone who could care for and work on my organic veggie/herb garden and do the watering and tending the terraces.

I am looking for someone who is willing to take on the daily routine of feeding animals, brushing down the horses, and general garden work, such as mending fences, clearing up fallen leaves and keeping the pool area clean.

When we have guests it would be great to have help with breakfasts and changeovers.
I also have some exciting projects planned for those of you that love a creative challenge, we are developing the area around the Bell Tents to include seating and a meditation space.I would also like to create a big art space in the main shed .


For those of you with an artistic flair, there is work to be done in the studio setting up for our art classes and changing the temporary exhibition in our Exhibition space. I would also like to do some large scale art and sculpture in the garden using Moss Graffiti and Bamboo.

The house was originally three 19th century vine workers cottages, although some of the original walls are much older. It has been beautifully converted into one house set into the hillside with lots of terraces and a two acre garden which slopes down through orchards to a tiny stream flanked by a bamboo wood.

When I moved here three years ago, all our animals came with us, so there is always work to be done in and around the stables. We have two horses, a pig called Oliver, 13 very friendly white doves, two dogs, three cats and goldfish and a Parrot called Tequila.

I love playing music, cooking and entertaining and often cook for guests, so any culinary input would be fab. I am equally happy to cater for a Vegetarian, Vegan or Gluten free diet.

When available I can offer you a private bedroom with a shared bathroom which has a Jacuzzi Bath

If you are interested in staying at Le Peyrail please send me your work preferences/skills and we can discuss things by e-mail or phone. If you would like to know more about Le Peyrail visit my Facebook page - Jo Gibbs, Le Peyrail or Belle Boheme - you should find me there.

I speak french and a smattering of Spanish, but I never see language as a barrier.

I believe that in this life nothing happens by accident, I am have made the most amazing friends through helpX and look forward to meeting you this spring/summer.

Best regards, Jo.

reviews (9)
Helper: Gosia Magdzik Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: November 4, 2019
I stayed with Jo only one week and it was definitely too short. Jo is charmi... view complete review

Helper: Svenja Meyer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: September 4, 2019
This was my first helpx experience and I feel like I found myself a second ho... view complete review

Helper: Georgie and Shorna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 14, 2019
Oh Jo, where do we start? There are not enough words to explain just how spec... view complete review

Helper: Ekaterina Melnikova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: March 22, 2019
This was my first helpx experience and I could not wish for a better one. Joe... view complete review

Helper: Anastasia and Kirill Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: December 18, 2018
It was our first experience with HelpX and we must confess it was great! Jo h... view complete review

Helper: Adam and Lauren Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 21, 2016
The lovely Jo, how do we even begin to explain our experience with you in wor... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Housiaux sof Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: October 18, 2014
It was my first help with Jo and Brian and It was very Nice i Stayed only 2 w... view complete review

Helper: Renata Milne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: August 3, 2014
Staying with Jo and Brian was my fourth experience with helpx type of work an... view complete review

Helper: Kate and Stan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 20, 2014
We stayed with Jo and Brian in September (very last minute due to another pla... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use