help exchange   Host 2015
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cranbrook
All Year: All year
Area (ha): .17
Persons: 1 or possibly 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2015
Region: BC, South Eastern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 13, 2019

updated April 2019

Hello! We are looking forward to hosting some enthusiastic, helpful Helpers this year!

We moved from Nanaimo, BC (on Vancouver Island) to Cranbrook, BC (in the East Kootenays) summer of 2016. We really 'downsized': our house in Cranbrook is much smaller than our Nanaimo house was, but it had an unfinished basement when we bought it. We have now completed the basement, with a bedroom, bathroom, family room, workshop and open areas. We have also almost completely redone half of the main floor - mostly working on 'finishing'. We also have some projects to do outside.

We are now looking for help with lots of projects:

* CONSTRUCTION: finishing, painting, etc.
* yard/garden work
* help with other construction projects around the house/yard
* organizing
* and always - help with meals (prep/cleanup), general housework is very much appreciated

We are mostly looking for females, but might consider the 'right' couple. Would love to have someone with experience in building - but even if no experience someone strong enough to help us (mostly Grant) with the work we are doing.

The ideal Helper will be someone who 'clicks' with us and can jump in and help with whatever is needed.

We would really love someone who can help Christine with a lot of ORGANIZING, especially with craft supplies and home office.

Sometimes you will work long and hard and other times it will be little work and more relaxing. But, you will have fun - be treated as one of the family - and see interesting parts of BC.

Our home in Cranbrook is within walking distance of downtown - but almost on the edge of town! A 'country in the city' kind of place. There is a bus stop a block away which gets you to most parts of town.

We are a very experienced Homestay Family. We got a kitten a few months ago, and sometimes 'dog sit' for our son/daughter. Our two adult kids live in southwest Alberta, and we visit back and forth frequently.

We are a NON-SMOKING HOME/PROPERTY. Sorry, but we do NOT accept Helpers who smoke (anything).

You are very welcome to join us when we go on outings. Other interests include gardening, history, reading, interior design, crafts and exploring the area we live in. Not vegetarian, but can accommodate vegetarians if they are ok with meat on the table and still helping with cooking/cleaning meat dishes. We try to be very environmentally conscious. We are a very short walk to miles of bush and trails - the Cranbrook area has many trail systems with hundreds of trail systems.

We look for an average of about 25 HOURS WORK a week from our Helpers.

If we happen to have family already visiting or paying guests your accommodation could be a couch or cot, but if we have no other guests you would be in the guest room. We've even had Helpers choose to sleep in their tent!

This is NOT free room & board, but rather room & board in exchange for WORK. We believe the Helpers who most enjoy their stay with us are those who do the most work, do the best work, and work the hardest. Christine has ESL teaching experience and we can both help with ESL tutoring/teaching. Everyone who stays with us - and is not a native English speaker - leaves very happy that their English has really improved!

Grant works full-time (shift work) tho' he could retire; I'm retired tho' I do some contract work.

We look forward to sharing our home and culture with you!

Grant and Christine
CedarHill Homestay | Cranbrook

reviews (6)
Helper: Angela Boos Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: July 23, 2016
I just want to say thank you to Grant and Christine for making my first helpX... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Kyung ho yoo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Korea, South Date: November 2, 2014
This place was located in silent area of Nanaimo. Grant and Cristine were kin... view complete review

Helper: Susan Lin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: October 4, 2011
I stayhed with Christine and the family for 3 weeks.I got great time there ... view complete review

Helper: Jade poleon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: August 13, 2010
Lucy and I stayed with the McCubbins for two weeks while on Vancouver Island.... view complete review

Helper: Lucy Kavanagh Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: August 12, 2010
My friend and I both stayed with Christine and the family for 2 weeks. They w... view complete review

Helper: Scott waldron Profile: hidden - premier members only  
From: United Kingdom Date: October 10, 2009
I stayed with Christine and the family for a little under two weeks and had a... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use