help exchange   Host 20190
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 or couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 20190
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 20, 2018

September requirement

1 or 2 people or couple required for splitting & stacking & wheelbarrowing firewood (up 2 or 3 steps with plank over it) from front garden to back garden (about 35 metres). Work is outside. So you need to be comfortable with being outside, enjoy physical work, and have a normal degree of everyday fitness. Being tall or male or young does not necessarily mean you will find wood processing easy. You need to be able to work consistently and pace yourself. Our best wood processing helper was a mid-western American woman in her late 20's who had grown up doing it.

Sarah & Guy are a friendly couple in late forties with twin 7 year olds, living in comfortable, spacious house in Headington a suburb of Oxford City. We can offer internet, own largish twin room (sharing if there are two of you), good home prepared food (smoothies for breakfast), we will do your clothes washing and return it dried to you. There may be other (possibly international) guests staying in the other spare room. You share bathroom with other guests (if any are staying) or have it almost to yourself otherwise. Most of the time this is a quiet relaxed house.

Prefer two week stay this can be extended if we all agree

25 hours per week per person, 5 days x 5 hours. If you come as a single and don't mind sharing a room with another helpxer, then this will increase your chances of being offered a place. Please mention if you are ok with this when replying

We can (in majority of times of the week) meet you in Headington if you get off the bus there (very easy from London airports). Oxford City centre with all its colleges, museums, nightlife, shopping, rivers and parks is 5mins walk to bus then 10/15 minutes on the bus or a pleasant 70 minute walk down back paths away from the road.

You can visit Blenheim Palace or Warwick Castle by day trip on the bus (once you have got into the centre of Oxford), and getting too and from London is very easy. London bus stops 5 mins from the house. When contacting us please put the word 'frog' in your email so i know you have read the whole profile. As helpx is about relationships as well as helping, please only contact us if your profile has a picture and 150 to 200 words about each of you. Thankyou

We heat our house purely through using wood, so this means a nice roaring fire in winter but a lot of work to prepare the wood.

Please no drugs. Smokers smoke in the road outside (Not on the doorstep).

Thanks Guy

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use