help exchange   Host 20258
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 20258
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 16, 2019

Hola, we are Des and Ilaria, an Anglo-Italian couple who run an off-grid eco-hotel in a really fantastic part of rural Andalucia (southern Spain) called the Altiplano de Granada.

We are always on the lookout for a caretaker (single person, friends or a couple) to mind the house between visits. This may involve GENERAL MAINTENANCE, BUILDING WORK, PAINTING, LANDSCAPING, ANIMAL CARE, GARDENING, IT AND ONLINE MARKETING, COOKING and CLEANING, depending on the skills you bring.

We'd love to hear from folk with experience in BRICK LAYING, CARPENTRY, PLUMBING, TILING, PAINTING ETC

In return for your hard work we offer a lovely place to stay, surrounded by nature and close to two fantastic natural parks (excellent walking, mountain biking, rock climbing, wild swimming, canyoning and other outdoor activities). There are also some unique archaeological sites and fascinating troglodite villages; a really interesting and unusual place.
Want to see how a real off-grid solar set-up works? No problem. Want to improve your language skills? We speak English, Italian and Spanish, so we can provide a very stimulating environment.
We ask for five hours work a day per person with one day off a week, or six hours a day with two days off a week (not necessarily two consecutive days).
The work varies according to the season but all helpers should be prepared to do basic cleaning and kitchen chores. If you like to cook and are good at it, please let us know as this will definitely impress us!
Other tasks include;
Feeding and caring for animals; we have Some free range chickens and a lovely non scary guard dog called Lola.
Painting walls, wood, ironwork.
Fixing and de-bugging computers, optimising web presence, on-line marketing, web site development, harvesting contacts for mailing lists.
Building walls, mixing cement, digging trenches.
Road mending.
Bicycle and motor maintenance tasks (if you have prior experience).
Cleaning and making ready guest bedrooms.
Chopping wood, pruning trees, harvesting olives and almonds etc.
Translation work (tell us which languages you speak and to what level).
If you have professional experience in any of the above, make sure you let us know.
We offer our HelpXers a guaranteed 10-day stay with the possibility to extend the time if everyone is happy. If you have special skills, good references and/or your own transport we are more likely to agree a longer initial stay.
We often host couples, but individuals and friends travelling together are also welcome. If you are travelling solo you may have to share a room with another HelpXer; we will assume you are OK with that unless you tell us otherwise in advance.
We now have quite a few reviews so check those out. Some guests have mentioned a light work load but I should stress that this depends on when you come and what other duties you may be given apart from manual labour. Also, rooms in the hotel itself are not always available to HelpXers!
Please note; we are not the kind of hotel that needs a receptionist and we rarely ask HelpXers to do any work which involves contact with clients. However, if you have solid English and Spanish you may be asked to translate for guides during activities (such as canyoning, for example); in which case you will be able to take part in the activity for a reduced fee. NB: Opportunities for paid work are extremely rare.
The hotel is in a very rural situation, 4km from the main road in an area with limited public transport. There is a bus from Granada bus station to Baza, where you have to get the bus to Castril which leaves Baza at 2.30pm and arrives in Castril about 3.15pm.
There is a direct bus from Granada to Castril at 4pm on Sundays only. You can also get to Castril by bus (Lycar) from Benidorm and Jaen.
If you dont have your own transport you are welcome to get lifts to the village with us, fitting around our schedule. Having your own transport will give you a lot more freedom to come and go. If you are aged over 25 and have a valid driving licence for Spain you may even be able to borrow a car now and then.
We like helpers who enjoy exploring the beautiful area around us, walking with Lola, mountain biking (we have mountain bikes you may borrow) as we think these are some of the key benefits of being here.
If you think youd like to come and help us, it is worth bearing in mind the following: Whatever tasks you are asked to do, we consider clearing up after yourself to be as important as the task itself. We will provide the food but we will probably ask you to cook it...
So, we hope to see you sometime here. Thanks for reading our profile and happy HelpX-ing!

reviews (16)
Helper: Abi and Lucien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 16, 2020
I truly recommend helpxing here! It is so beautiful and relaxing! Dez is a lo... view complete review

Helper: Taun Richards Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 18, 2018
I spent a month here. Derek and Ilaria and both very adept at managing the ho... view complete review

Helper: Garath Davis Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: December 17, 2017
This was a great helpx and I spent a total of 10 days altogether. The hotel i... view complete review

Helper: Kim LOUTH Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 14, 2017
I spent two lovely weeks here with Des and Ilaria, who have put in a lot of t... view complete review

Helper: Katarzyna Jaroszewicz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: July 13, 2017
It has been a very, very long while since my beautiful ten days here came to ... view complete review

Helper: Gabriele Cigna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: April 5, 2017
Amazing experience,great hosts,beautiful place,what could I ask more?I had th... view complete review

Helper: Erik Falkenhain Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 4, 2017
Des and Ilara gave me the unique chance to stay with them for one complete mo... view complete review

Helper: Michael Roberts Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 31, 2017
I stayed here for 3 weeks during January. I can confirm and agree with all pr... view complete review

Helper: Paul Wong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: December 1, 2016
This was one of the best HelpXs Ive stayed at. I was there for the month of... view complete review

Helper: Michael and Indre Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 12, 2016
We stayed with Des and Ilaria for 7 weeks during May & June in 2016. We were ... view complete review

Helper: Jessica krepel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 20, 2016
My stay here was wonderful. Des and Ilaria are amazing people and made me fee... view complete review

Helper: Vincent Krijthe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: March 23, 2016
In January 2016 I was again here. I wasn't suppose to go there but a host let... view complete review

Helper: Michael Millar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: February 20, 2016
I spent 3 weeks here during January and February 2016 and had a truly brillia... view complete review

Helper: Vincent Krijthe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: July 2, 2014
From the end of may 2014 till 1st of July I stayed at this amazing place. Ila... view complete review

Helper: Tracy and Luke Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: February 1, 2014
Ahhh where to start... This was our first experience of Helpx and what a wond... view complete review

Helper: Charlotte Richard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 2, 2013
I stayed two weeks at Derek and Ilaria 's ecohotel: two wondeful weeks... Th... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use