help exchange   Host 20278
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Duncan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7 acre
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 20278
Region: BC, South Eastern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 25, 2020

Hi How are you? We would love to share our land and home with you and offer you fun creative helpx experiences.
We are a fun, creative, playful family. We have 3 children 15, 10 and 9. We live an alternative, sustainable lifestyle and love the outdoors. We love music, yoga, dancing, gardening, hiking and time together.

We have a beautiful private tiny house for you to stay in with a full kitchen, we run it as an air b n b in the spring and summer.


We live right beside the beautiful Cowichan River were we swim all summer and go tubing.
We are a 10 minute walk from Holt Creek Provincial Park with the Trans Canada trail right there and amazing trestle bridge and hiking along the river.
It is a 10 minute drive to town/ 20 minute bike ride. We offer a bike for you to borrow and are happy to drive you there.

We can pick you up from Downtown Duncan or possible Victoria or Nanaimo of our city trips align. We are 1 hour from both Victoria and Nanaimo.

We are currently looking for a helper this spring & summer to help with gardening, childcare, cooking and housekeeping and firewood. We like to work with our helpers strengths and choose tasks that are appropriate. We have heaps of fun stuff. Sanding wooden doors, painting a bedroom, riding the ride on lawn mower, helping us do some design work in our garden, household projects and organization, we are also open to your creative ideas on how you would like to help. We especially need to spread some mulch and gravel under our deck and plant some rhodenderons and preapre the garden and move a tree we just bucked up.

We would like to host a motivated, energetic person who enjoys the presence of children to come and help us.

We have a beautiful room with ensuite bathroom, double bed, laundry, wifi and provide 3 nourishing meals a day in exchange for your help.

Chris is a fine woodworker, making instruments, drums, didges and furniture.
Ali is a clothing designer and seamstress.


We have two cats, and two guinea pigs.

We ask our helpers do 25 hours a week in exchange for 3 nourishing meals plus snacks, laundry, wifi and accomodations.

We invite our helpers to join us in family activities including trip to the swimming pool, hiking, west coast beaches etc.
We have an infrared sauna you can use during your stay and a fire pit We love campfires.



Any helper instantly becomes a part of our family!

We look forward to meeting you and having some fun together.

Holt creek Provinical park is only 1 km away from us. Along with a lovely biodynamic cafe and farm up the road. It is a 10 minute drive to town, 25 minute bike ride.

reviews (6)
Helper: Sally Wise Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: May 16, 2016
It was an honour and a pleasure to do our first Help X experience with this B... view complete review

Helper: Martin and Janina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 7, 2015
Jani and I stayed with this exceptional, wonderful, warmhearted, fun, and ins... view complete review

Helper: Annika Samnée Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 20, 2015
Dear Ali, Chris, Naomi, Bodhi and Chandra, thank you for the fantastic and w... view complete review

Helper: Louise and Ambroise Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 22, 2013
A haven of peace in the heart of a wonderful landscape : this is how we can d... view complete review

Helper: Jaimi-lee McPherson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: June 1, 2013
Ali, Chris and kids, I had an absolutely wonderful week at your home earlie... view complete review

Helper: Joseph Samuelson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 12, 2013
Ali and Chris are both lovely people along with the rest of the family and I ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use