help exchange   Host 20313
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.12 approx
Persons: one
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20313
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 13, 2020

Hi HelpXers,

*Please also see latest update and plans at the bottom of our profile. Thank you!

Mum (Pat) and I (James) moved here about 7 years ago to get some land, escape the busy city consumer lifestyle and start on a path of sustainability and self-sufficiency. My partner Holly is also staying here with us. We are starting to produce our own organic food, water, energy, materials and much more. Basically trying to remove the dependencies we have on big corporations and the failing economic system. I believe we need to re-establish community, sharing, loving and helping each other, rather than pursuing our manufactured need for money, big TVs, fast cars and bling etc!

Short term we are looking for someone to help with jobs such as weeding, potting up, wood chipping, splitting logs, digging, housework, woodwork/repairs, strimming, re-pointing the stone walling and paving slabs, hedge cutting etc. Being familiar with basic tools such as a saw and drill would be useful.

Long term we are looking for someone to fit in with the day to day jobs, and be able to farm sit while we are away. You would need to complete your week trial well in advance of the dates we are away as it takes time to learn the daily routine and we will be trialling several volunteers to select the most suited person who the animals and ourselves feel most comfortable with. The earlier you can come the better. Previous farm experience would be advantageous here. Your main duties would be animal care of the rabbits, ducks, chickens and geese; letting them out at sunrise and shutting them away at sunset, feeding, collecting eggs, mucking out etc. Plant care; opening the tunnels at sunrise and closing them at sunset, watering, slugging and pest control.

Short term you would most likely need to camp in a tent, or there is plenty of room to park up if you have a van, longer term especially if you are farm sitting or stay on through winter we may be able to find you a room in the cottage. We will of course provide food, cooking arrangements to be determined.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -

* We now have a business plan so we can share the special magic of Rosemary Cottage with visitors from near and far. We have such a wide diversity of wild-life, of lands and soil, hill, bog, woods etc., and with the recent interest in ecology, conservation, permaculture and how food is produced, that we feel the time is right to share our experience with others.

To start with we want to offer a Nature Appreciation Trail aimed at all the family and then expand to running workshops and courses. We do not have a lot of money to get this set up so it will be hard work and take time, but should be interesting and fun. It would probably be easier if you are english or speak good english and familiar with words and terms used in this type of venture.

Our facilities (once set up) would also be available for other people to hire to run their own events, or workshops, which may be of interest to you if you have interesting skills to share?

If you are practical and already have some experience of this type of project, and would like to be part of the team, we would be very pleased to hear from you.

Please feel free to contract us with any questions.

James, Pat and Holly

reviews (14)
Helper: Jimmy Byrde Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 17, 2018
I spent 14 awesome days with James, his partner Holly and his mother Pat on m... view complete review

Helper: Thibaut and Emilie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 22, 2017
We have spent 2 weeks with Pat & James, they were really interesting people, ... view complete review

Helper: Eli browne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: November 11, 2016
sorry for the delay Pat and James are lovely people with a beautiful and cle... view complete review

Helper: Delphine Forner Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 25, 2016
I had great time with Pat & James! I stay with them one month and I learnt a ... view complete review

Helper: Gary Lee Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 21, 2016
I had a fantastic experience staying with Pat and James, they are excellent h... view complete review

Helper: Connor and Tine Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 22, 2015
Our stay at Pat & James was short but very sweet indeed.. Lots of stuff is h... view complete review

Helper: Clement GUENARD Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 19, 2015
I stayed a week with Pat and James because I couldn't stay more. They are rea... view complete review

Helper: Andy Robinson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: February 4, 2015
I has a great few days with Pat and James last year, I learnt a lot - about h... view complete review

Helper: Konrad Lech Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: January 19, 2015
I stayed about ten days with Pat and James, because of the need to come back ... view complete review

Helper: Oliver Marsh Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: September 20, 2014
Had a great two weeks staying with Pat & James. I helped out doing wood chipp... view complete review

Helper: Jen Petersen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 22, 2014
I spent several weeks with Pat & James, and hopefully helped them efficiently... view complete review

Helper: Vivien Diack Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: August 19, 2014
There are a great many tasks and projects in progress on the farm in Thorndon... view complete review

Helper: Bernhard Bosch Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 29, 2013
Hello Pat and James! I really enjoyed to stay at your land and I had a very ... view complete review

Helper: Jorge Montes Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: November 9, 2013
I spent two very pleasant months together with Pat and James. They are very w... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use