help exchange   Host 20354
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nelson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 20354
Region: BC, South Eastern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 17, 2020

Thank you for your interest.

I am not a farm. I live in town in a 5 bedroom home, (15 minutes walk from Nelson centre).

If you are interested in the life around Nelson, British Columbia, I might be ideal for you.

My background is in Communication. I have been involved in the 60's creating video art. In the 70's I helped to establish community radio stations in Montreal and Vancouver. In Denmark, I managed a theatre. Back in Canada I traveled with a slide-show presentation of my travels in Nepal. I am full of stories and questions. I am enthusiastic to learn from you and share experiences.

I have now lived in Nelson since 1988. In this time I have created a community newspaper. "The Express" has now morphed into an email publication.
https://www.facebook.com/WhatsOnTodayNelson/
So, I am very interested in communication.

I live alone in my home, so having helpers and guests brings joy to me as I do like people.

I have traveled around the world. I have gone west from Vancouver through Asia, lived in Nepal, lived in Denmark, and arrived back in British Columbia from the east.

Ideally, you become part of my family. That means we eat dinners together. I am not a vegetarian, but I do eat veggies. You get a beautiful quiet room and all the food you can eat.

You help around the home, much as you would do in your own home. It is good if you like cooking. I get to experience other foods, and dinner is the glue that binds us.

I have some small gardens that could use your help.

What else is there to do? That is up to you and your skills and interests. We can talk.

What can I give you? I know English very well, so I can help you improve your language skills. But, you should already be able to have a conversation. Maybe you need help with your accent or proper use of expressions.

I know the area very well including some hot springs in the woods. We can go on short day trips. Depending on your interest, we could go on short hikes. Or, I could suggest hikes for you.

You will have time to explore on your own. Nelson is quite interesting. It has a strong arts and cultural scene.

Key words - communication, danish, Scandinavia, newspapers, internet, peace, nonviolence, folk and jazz music, movies, photography, video making, philosophy, happiness, making a better world.

No cigarettes smokers please. I eat veggies and meat, (chicken, fish, beef, not pork). I try to eat organic as much as possible. Two weeks stays at least, (maybe longer) Travelers only. I only take one person at a time as I don't have work for two. Please include a photo with your first email if you do not have one with your profile.

Let me know you have read my profile by mentioning Denmark or something else unique about my profile. I will not answer unless you do.


Good travelling to you.

reviews (1)
Helper: Makiko Kawamata Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: July 3, 2013
Nelson who lives in Nelson is an interesting person.He will tell you why he l... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use