help exchange   Host 20430
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes (limited mid Winter)
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 20430
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 16, 2019

We are now located in Somerville, approximately 1 hour 20 minutes by train or 1 hour 30 minutes by car from central Melbourne. Somerville is south of the CBD on the Mornington Peninsula and is a small town with modern facilities. The location provides excellent access to the beaches both surf and swimming, wineries and tourist attractions the region has to offer.

Our home is in a quiet location close to the township. It is spacious, modern and comfortable with excellent facilities including a solar heated swimming pool. We offer meals and a private comfortable bedroom with access to a seperate spa bathroom. Broadband wifi is also available.

About us, we are an older couple now both retired from our professions and have varied interests including art, classical music, literature, craft and gardening. We recently moved from the inner city for a more quiet and relaxed lifestyle as well as having the space to pursue our interests. You would be welcome to be included in family events and activities but have no obligation.

About the exchange - we are seeking a helper that must have some practical outdoor experience to help further develop the garden, upgrade watering systems and set up our workshop. Our expectation is around 3 to 4 hours help per day, preferably in the morning. We offer flexibility and expect the same. Independence and maturity is very important to us as we are not interested in parenting anyone.

We are good cooks and like to cook, we also welcome the opportunity for helpers to cook if they wish. Breakfast is get it yourself from the pantry and fridge. Lunch is available and is a light meal depending on the day and activities. Dinner is the substantial hot meal of the day and prepared in the early evening. We eat well and try and source organic whenever we can, food is always good quality, fresh and varied according to the season. We have limited capacity to cater for special diets so it is important to tell us if you have specific needs.

We have two small dogs, one is very old, they are part of the family so if you donít love dogs and are not used to having dogs around then our place will not suit you.

The location would suit someone with their own transport or who likes walking, town shops and the rail station are about 15 to 20 minutes walk (a bicycle is also available for local use). You will have plenty of free time to explore all the natural beauty and attractions the Mornington Peninsula has to offer.

Please note all the feedback below is based on our previous location, bayside inner city. We are only now ready to host at our new location.

If you are interested then please tell us a bit about yourself, when (please be as specific with dates as possible) and how long you would like to stay, we prefer stays of two weeks maximum. We would like to know about what skills and experience you would bring to the exchange. If you send us a generic request you will most likely get a generic response.

Last of all, we donít discriminate on the basis of race, colour or sexual preference, however we are looking for a HelpX with a good attitude and some experience in outdoor work is essential.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use