Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20436
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Firvale
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 21
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20436
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2014

We could really use another female helper right now for 1-3 months! Anyone available? :-) Lots of baby goats and lambs being born ... a wonderful time on the farm! Helpers also needed for the busy warmer months of June-July. Couples preferred but not necessary. Experience with livestock preferred but not necessary. We prefer helpers to stay 1-2 months.

Our farm is a magnificent 51 acres of forest and pasture, in the heart of the rugged Coast Mountains on 1/4 mile of Bella Coola riverfront. Abundant wildlife such as grizzlies, black bears, wolves and incredible bird life on the property, close to the ocean. Stay in a shared cabin (or private cabin if you are a couple). We also have a beautiful vintage 1967 Airstream trailer for overflow accommodations - you will share the cabin kitchen and cabin or house bathroom, but have your own sleeping and hang-out space. We are in need of mature, self-motivated helpers who can help us rebuild our home and fences which were damaged by severe flooding 2 years ago, build and develop a roadside produce stand, and move farm buildings out of the flood plain. Carpentry skills and cooking skills preferred but not necessary. Farm work includes: market garden and fruit trees; goat milking and kidding; cow milking and calving; sheep shearing and lambing; all aspects of livestock care including pigs and laying hens; care of herding dogs and livestock guardian dog; care and working of a team of draft horses; every aspect of gardening and food preservation; farmers market booth June- Sept.; cheese making Feb-Sept; developing interpretive signage throughout the forest; creating forest garden and children's garden; building bat and bird houses; building riverfront wildlife viewing station. Hosts are friendly and easy-going. We love folks who like children and animals! We love couples!! We prefer long stays (at least 2 months), but will consider shorter stays for the right person or couple. Be prepared to learn a lot, work hard, and have fun. Our farm is very remote (Firvale has about 25 residents), so please consider carefully whether this level of isolation is for you. Meaning: if you love an exciting nightlife and a high degree of social contact, our farm may not be for you. We only host up to 4 volunteers at one time, and usually just one or two. Those who do best at our farm are: mature, open-minded, self-motivated, love kids and dogs, like spending time alone or with few people, want to experience the peace and quiet of wilderness, are self-sufficient, are truly interested in learning about farming, are not opposed to working a few extra hours now and then if needed. We provide excellent "slow food": almost everything (fruit, veggies, dairy, eggs, and meat) is from our farm or neighbouring farms, supplemented with grains, pasta, beans, flour, etc. We also bake all our own bread, tortillas, pizza dough, cookies, muffins, etc. We expect you to help with all cooking - we will teach you if needed. You won't find snacks like Cheetos, Coke, or Campbells Soup in our pantry, but you are welcome to buy your own. Thank you to all our previous helpers for all your hard work.

reviews (1)
Helper: Aj Jisri Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: October 25, 2013
I have not visited the home of this host, but I would highly recommend agains... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use