help exchange   Host 20607
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ostfold
All Year: 15.04 -31.09.2019
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 20607
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 7, 2019

NB! We have now made arrangements for the summer of 2019. No more vacancy!

Please read the detailed description before sending us an email!

We would to invite a female volunteer to stay with us. We all speak English. No smoking.
It would be great if you could stay minimum 3-4 weeks. A positive attitude, practical skills and the ability to learn new skills are appreciated.
Please send us an email if you are interested and we will answer you as soon as possible.

We live in the Southeast part of Norway, 1 hr drive from Oslo, in an old, charming house at the countryside. We have two kids aged 10 and 12 and two cats, who live outdoor. We have been host for voluntary workers for 6 years previous ( as a HelpX host ) and have had the pleasure of getting to know people from around the world.

We appreciate social people with a happy mind and hope that you will feel like a part of our family during your stay.

We like to watch movies, go biking, eating outside (BBQ) whenever the weather allows us to, go swimming in the ocean, go for a walk in the woods, to visit museums and other cultural events. We have a big garden and grow organic vegetables for our own use.

This spring and summer (from May until September)we need help around the house, in the garden and vegetable garden and with different projects outdoors, like painting and carpentering. We also have another old house (side building) from the 1700s that we are restoring. We will also need some help in the house and some help looking after/playing with our 2 kids.

You will work outside when the weather is nice and inside when the weather is not so good.
You will mostly work together with one of us and we will have lunch, and all other meals, together. A typical working day will start at 9 in the morning, a 1 hr lunch break and then work again until dinner. The work will be varied and you will have 2 days off every week.

It is important to us that you enjoy your stay, that the work is varied and we will make sure that your time with us is pleasant, interesting and fun.
We are running our own business from home.
During July/August we will do some traveling around Norway photographing old, charming houses for the magazine that we publish and then we will need you to come with us to look after the kids a few hours while we are working. Other times of the summer we might take a day trip or weekend trip.
(You can check out the website here www.magasinet-norskehjem.no)

We all participate in daily chores like setting the table and tidy away the dishes after eating, emptying the dishwasher, help keeping the place clean and tidy. This is a part of daily family life.

We hope that you will become a part of our Norwegian family and included in our lifestyle. We would also like to learn about your culture.
The whole family speaks English and can teach you a little bit of Norwegian if you would like to learn some. You will learn about gardening, restoring wooden windows and fixing tings using traditional methods and handcrafts, and about traditional architecture etc.

You will get your own cosy bedroom with free internet connection and a great view. You will also have access to your own living room. And of course free meals all week.

Our home is in the countryside, around 5 km from the nearest town, and 1 hr drive from Oslo with bus/train or car.
We will pick you up at the nearest train or bus station when you arrive.
You can travel and explore other parts of Norway in your spare time, or we can show you around Oslo and the district where we live. We have a bike that you can borrow to explore the surroundings. Beautiful nature and great opportunities to go hiking.



Photos:
1. Our old, beautiful wooden house from 1862 seen from the garden.
2. Arial photo of the property. The residence is located in the country side with great view of the landscape. We often see wild animals like deer and moose in the fields around us. Great opportunities to go hiking.
3. The garden where we grow our own vegetables and berries. The greenhouse is a great place to sit in late summer evenings.
4. The house with entrance from the new kitchen to the garden and the outdoor shower. Your bedroom and living room is behind the 3 windows at the second floor.
5. The garden pond where we can swim in the summer.
6. The family in front of the big jasmine in the garden.

reviews (5)
Helper: Valentine Perroche Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 13, 2017
I stayed around 3 weeks with the Froyset family and it was very nice ! They m... view complete review

Helper: Chantal Fraser Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: August 10, 2016
My stay with the Frøyset family was my first help exchange experience and I d... view complete review

Helper: Maria yolanda Velazquez Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Mexico Date: January 13, 2016
Hi! I stayed with the family for 1 month during the summer of 2015. Kari-Mart... view complete review

Helper: Leire Aparicio Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: August 8, 2015
Last year (summer 2014) I spent almost 2 months with Kari-Marte, Tor Harald, ... view complete review

Helper: Emily Quinn Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 21, 2015
I spent 2 and a half weeks with Kari-Marte, Tor Harald, Tarald and Nicoline; ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use