help exchange   Host 20646
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 20646
Country: Latvia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 18, 2019

Our family (me, my boyfriend Sebastian and 2 children) owned camping is right on the outskirts of Riga, only 15km from city center, surrounded by a countryside environment. Being post-soviet country Latvia may not seem a dream destination, but all people who have come to stay with us said they were surprised how much they liked it here. Our campsite is not a big place and we are in the seems-to-be-never-ending process of building and improving. Most of the things we build and design and construct ourselves, as well as looking after our clients, which are campsite guests, hosting private parties, children summer camps, squash. Volunteers have come to help us the last few years and it has been a lot of fun for all of us.

The range of help we ask is wide - from everyday chores,like - helping with children camps, cleaning, looking after our cute bunnies and cutting grass, to help in the construction of our new projects (mostly woodwork) - we try to make your stay here as diverse and interesting as possible. You will live in a caravan and share it with other volunteers. You will get 24h access to WiFi, can use bike or canoe, swim and much more. We will expect your help for some 5 hours per day (timing is flexible) and you will get all meals and there is always food in fridge so you can get extra any time.

We have 2 children - 13 and 9. My sister lives in the house next to campsite and she has 2 daughters, so it is always a lot of children around.

Summers are very busy and I can't promise a lot of showing around, but if we can find a free time to go somewhere - movies, clubs, beach, etc., we will always take you with us.

Here in the house we all speak good English, Russian and my native Latvian. I also understand some German and my Swiss partner speaks German, some French and Swiss German.

House: You will be staying in a caravan which is shared by possibly 2 other people. Caravan has 2 bed - 1 huge and 1 small bed. If at the same time there are 3 people, big bed will be shared.

Food: we cook and eat lunch and dinner together and provide food for the breakfast. Please note, that helping in preparing meals and cleaning kitchen afterwards is not considered as work, but sharing of housechores. One of our family is vegetarian, so this is not problem. But, we do not and will not cook vegan or provide spacial vegan stuff (coconut milk, nuts, tofu, almond milk, etc.). If you are vegan, you are welcome, but you will need pretty much to look for your special dietary needs yourself.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use