help exchange   Host 20697
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2700ha
Persons: 1 or a Couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20697
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 20, 2018

Hi we would like to invite you to stay with us on our cattle property in return for some help.

Our property name, "Karingal", is traditional indigenous language for HAPPY HOME. Ours is a quiet peaceful place overlooking green hills, bottle trees and a variety of wildlife such as kangaroos, wallabies (every morning by your back door), plains turkeys, emus, cockatoos and lots of other birds. At night you will be dazzled by millions of sparkly stars and it is nothing to count 5 or 6 shooting stars. We like to sit on the deck with a cold drink and stare at the stars or stoke up the fire for a camp oven roast - you will of course be the guest of honour. On the property we have a number of dams to swim in and fantastic places to hike/bush walk.

We are located 5.5 hours North West of Brisbane in a small place my friends call mongrel billy. I can send you a postcard I produced that contains a map and clear directions on how to get here.

Duties could be:
~ Gardening - Vegetable, orchard and decorative,
~ Cattle work (don't worry training will be provided and it is gentle and fun - we have happy cows who are not stressed due to our careful, slow handling after all happy cows are healthy cows!)
~ Feeding calves and dogs
~ Fencing, if you're fit and keen... (This has now become a HIGH PRIORITY for us)

These are just a few things however living on a farm means you could be doing any number of things that change daily, if not hourly :)

The hours are flexible (we understand that you may need time away to travel etc) and will be negotiated prior to your arrival.

Yes we are looking for you to have energy and willingness to have-a-go along with a sense of humour but we are also interested in getting to know you and what skills you have as I have many projects that need a variety of talents so be bold, be brave and say G'day who knows you may just have the adventure of a lifetime!

I know we will all benefit from a positive, productive cultural exchange.

We are nearly finished building our new home so some help maybe sanding and oiling floors and decks would be appreciated.

We have self-contained living quarters available so you can cook for yourself ( the local supermarket is just under an hour away) and your work will pay for the accommodation or I can cook for you. I can cater for gluten and dairy free along with vegetarian and other allergies if notified. The accommodation would suit either a sngle person or a couple.

We are easy going happy people who are keen to share our beautiful way of life and learn about yours.

The hours and terms are negotiable and we can help with your 2nd year visa.

Would be best if you have your own vehicle and licence.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use