help exchange   Host 20780
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Carnham
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 66.2
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 20780
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 27, 2017

Peaceful secluded rural property in the mountains of the beautiful scenic Clarence Valley, Northern NSW. A couple of hours south west of Byron Bay, 1 hour from Grafton, 1.5 hours from Coffs Harbour.

In the process of building a dwelling from shipping containers and a swag of salvaged materials. Enjoy persons willing to participate in helping with whatever is going on at the time.

Flexible arrangements. Couples or one or two singles welcome. Satellite connection to internet unavailable at the moment. BYO laptop. No phone reception. Separate sleeping accommodation is on a 38 ft yacht, or in a family sized tent. No TV. Outside bathroom, and composting bush toilet..
No restrictions really, prefer non smokers. I am very approachable, just ask the questions if you are unsure of anything..
Physical outdoor types encouraged. Anyone with building skills, or permaculture knowledge would be a bonus. You must like living in the bush, miles away from shops and pubs, and appreciate the simple life. I do not have hot running water. I have a large tank supplying lovely drinking water, and a huge dam for fishing and swimming. I am not connected to the grid for power but have a generator for operating power tools and a very small solar system for other power requirements like running a laptop or charging batteries...
4 hours work daily, would be required, for all food and lodgings.

Projects vary according to the time of year and weather conditions. Jobs could include weed pulling (no chemical spraying), Tractor/slasher work, clearing lantana, tree planting, mulching, general gardening and brush cutting. Kitchen chores, collecting wood and lighting the earth oven will be another daily job. Project building work will be ongoing, including landscaping, the building of a composting toilet, and bathhouse, including a greywater system etc.
I am establishing fruit trees, and a vegetable garden. Good food is the order of the day...Fresh from the veggie patch, according to the seasons.

I have bees hives and beautiful natural honey, and require help with robbing the hives on occasion.
I have totally enjoyed the company and help of those helpx that have ventured out to the block, and loved the cultural exchange.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use