help exchange   Host 20900
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


maehongson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2 rais.
Persons: 1or2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20900
Country: Thailand

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2016

Hello! My name is Piak and since 1993 I have worked as a tourist guide in Mae Hong Son province. In addition, during the last years I have learned a lot about sustainable agriculture attending courses through Thailand real life universities, under my practical behind the scene. Now, I want to put my knowledge into practice in my hometown to help my family first, and then my neighbours.

I have a wooden house and a farm in a little village in Mae Sariang. My purpose is to turn the wooden house into a learning center and the farm into a farmstay. This is a long-term project, in which many things need to be done and I would be grateful to have people around helping and learning with my family and people.

This is my to-do list:
- Learning centre (permaculture + recycling).
o Adapting my house to build a public space where people can learn about permaculture and recycling. I am also focused on sanitation (use the waste of the rice).
o Organize the recycling space (?)

- Farmstay: creating a sustainable farm where I am building a canal with fishes that will be fed with the organic waste and vegetables we produce (?). It will be place to learn about responsible farming based on permaculture and self-sufficiency.
o Building an eco-toilet (in progress)
o Cleaning the field
o Building 9 houses with different local materials (bamboo, thinroof, diptarookaptus, mud)
o Finishing the water system. A water canal is built all around the field. Houses will be built above little water reservoirs. Some canals need to be deeper and I want to create a water flow all around the field using bikes to pump the water.
o Fixing and installing solar panels.

- Homestay: you can also stay at my house and help me to teach English to local children and my two young daughters.

You will be able to sleep at my house that is very close to the farm in a real Thai environment. It may not be as comfortable as a Guest House but in the other hand, you will be surrounded by real Thai people, with their characteristic warmness and kindness. In return, people who come to my farm will be able to visit the tribal people as I come from there (50% off, as I am the tourist guide).

Everybody is welcome to help here! I expect motivated and open-minded people to help me, and especially if you have knowledge in building with natural materials or water systems making.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use