help exchange   Host 21012
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Puivert
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3/4
Persons: 2 or more if camping
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21012
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 4, 2020

Spring is sprung!! ....... and the to do list is growing as fast as the plants!!

We are a family of four (Simon 46, Liza 46, Molly 22 now left home and Oran 12) with a few animals (a dog, a cat, sheep and a few chickens) a veg plot, an orchard, a field and a wooded area.

We are exploring the practical application of permaculture principles and ecological land management; and trying to generally future proofing our environment.

We have recently moved to our new home and have a million and one ideas and projects to create in this new landscape!


The tasks will vary; some current / ongoing jobs

Home jobs at Campeille

Clearing paths
Weeding and mulching
Maintaining and moving sheep pastures
Fencing
Stacking wood
Preparing sheepskins

We provide accommodation on site in a caravan, belle tent or camping spots in the orchard for you to pitch your tent (camper vans/live-in vehicles are also welcome)

We also have a house we’re renovating using natural and ecological materials in another village half an hour away up in a little hamlet at 1000 m altitude, where we can also accommodate people, especially if you want to focus on eco renovation....


Food is one of Liza’s passions ; we serve healthy meals (mainly vegi, fish or meat not usually more than once or twice a week) that are cooked from scratch using home grown, local and organic ingredients when ever possible .......... if you have any special diet requirements let us know in advance and we’ll see if we can work with them .... Also please bear in mind that although we share a glass of wine or beer every now and then we do not provide alcohol with every meal or every day ....... but herb teas a volontee!!

children are welcome however the caravan is quite small so you might be more comfortable with a tent also.

The exchange is based on 4hs work a day, but can regrouped into full days leaving you free the rest of the week to hike/explore the area etc. It's not a total boot camp but rural living does require a certain level of grit! ...... and we do expect you to chip in to domestic tasks too as your living with us not paying guests!!

We also try to make time for creative pursuits. Music ,yoga, ragrugging, knitting and other creative recycling ... and are involved in various associative and social activities in the area.

We live in an area of outstanding natural beauty the house and site have impressive views and are situated just in front of a medieval castle, there are many opportunities for walking and other outdoor activities; a small swimming lake is 10 mins walk down the hill next to the village where there is an associative caféine shop, a micro brewery, a post office, a free shop and many community events and activities. There is also a much larger lake at near by Montbel 15 mins drive away.


hope to hear from you
Liza and Simon

reviews (8)
Helper: Anett Läänemets Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Estonia Date: October 25, 2015
I spend week and half with Low family and really felt like home. Caravan life... view complete review

Helper: John and Leila Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 5, 2014
we stayed with simon, liza and the gang at their lovely farm house in fremis ... view complete review

Helper: Christine bergougnous Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 18, 2014
It seems that Liza, Simon, Oran and Molly have become part of my family since... view complete review

Helper: Kate and Jojo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 27, 2014
Firstly apologies for how long it has taken to write this review! Jojo and ... view complete review

Helper: Dara O'Conor Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: November 3, 2013
I couldn´t reccommend a stay at Chez Low up in Fremis enough. Simon and Liza ... view complete review

Helper: Demontety sophie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 31, 2013
I spent two weeks in the Low house, with Liza and her family and two others h... view complete review

Helper: Ryan and Spencer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 14, 2013
This place was a great escape from the city life! The Low family live at the ... view complete review

Helper: Chris Read Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 28, 2013
Thanks so much to Simon, Liza, Molly and Orin. stayed for only a short while... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use