help exchange   Host 21058
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Arcos de Valdevez
All Year: no need at this time
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21058
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 1, 2019


This is a family owned farm and vineyard in the village of Vale near Arcos de Valdevez. For the past 20 years the farm and vineyard have been cared for by myself, Emilia, and my husband Alexandre. Alexandre passed away leaving me to take on the responsibility myself. I also have a thriving business selling home-made jams. As you may understand, the amount of work for me alone is a lot. I have friends who help however, there is always plenty to do!
If you would like to come and help at my farm you can expect to be asked to do any of the following tasks:
Seasonal tasks in the vineyard, caring for the vegetable garden, harvesting crops such as potatoes or maize, cutting grass and keeping the farm tidy, chopping wood for the smoke house, feeding the ducks, chickens, rabbits, pigs, or dogs ( at the moment I only have dogs), or maybe even helping me in the small jam factory.
In return I will be happy to feed you three good meals a day and you may stay either in my small holiday cottage next to the house, or in the spare room of my house depending on if the holiday house is rented. I would expect you to work about 5 hours a day for 5 days in return for 7 days food and lodging. I would also ask for a minimum stay of 2 weeks.
The village itself is about 7km from Arcos de Valdevez. Here you will find a bus station with connections to all the towns in the area as well as major cities such as Porto and Braga. There are 2 buses a day from the village to Arcos and back. We are close to the Peneda Geres national park and the area around Vale is very beautiful for walking. There are two cafes in the village and a small shop.
I speak English and a little French although my first language is Portuguese.
I would love for you to contact me if you have any questions. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kindest regards

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use