Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21059
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Summer
Area (ha): 1.7
Persons: 2/3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21059
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 21, 2013

We have a large 100 year-old family home in 1.7 acres which we share with lodgers, small dog and cat and Mother-in-Law. There is an orchard, polytunnel, veggy garden and several run-down outbuildings and projects! We are keen on making and doing whatever we can for ourselves. Nigel is an active skip-watcher and scavenger, so much firewood and building material ends up in landfill it makes us sad! We have solar panels for electricity and hot water and a small off grid power station which runs on waste veg oil when I can get any..... This summer (2013) we would really like to make it a priority to rebuild our ancient, but lovely, brick and timber greenhouse so folks with good carpentry or building skills would be useful. There will be plenty to keep non-building types busy too, ... Big hedge to trim, maintenance of veg garden, weeding (sorry!), painting of ramshackle sheds, fruit to pick and wine to be made! There is loads of outdoor living space here and accommodation would be in the form of a restored groovy solar powered 1960's caravan in the corner of the orchard and/or our 'Pizza Shack' outdoor building with wood oven, mains electricity, running water and fold down bed. Dates and working hours are negotiable - looking at Early May onwards..... We prefer helpers over 25 years old, Couples welcome, healthy ingredients and veg provided for self catering but meals and socialising is a definite part of the deal! We live in the countryside just outside Exeter in Devon. Travel links are pretty good and there are lots of exploring possibilities - forest, beaches, Dartmoor etc. We have bicycles you can borrow for trips out and live next door to a lovely farm shop and ice cream parlour.......
We have had some really nice folks come and help before and are looking forward to another fun and busy summer!
Nigel x

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use