help exchange   Host 21078
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.3
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21078
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2013

We live on a 7.5 acre lifestyle block in Karaka 35km South of Auckland city (approx 40 minute drive / 50 minutes by train); and are seeking an extra pair of hands for 3+ months to primarily help with out with our horses and help keep the household running smoothly in exchange for food and accommodation. .

On our farm we have 3 x sports horses and a few other animals:

- 3 year old / 14.2hh chestnut warm blood x thoroughbred mare
- 4 year old / 16hh bay warm blood x thoroughbred gelding
- 11 year old / 15.3hh black NZ Bred gelding
- 1 x corgi dog
- 3 x cats

We have 2 lovely daughters currently aged 3 and 4 years. During the week my husband and I work, and we have a nanny who takes care of our daughters from Mon – Fri during the day.

Below are the key areas we require assistance with:

(i) helping out with our horses (i.e. schooling our young horses / feeding / cleaning paddocks)
(ii) helping out with some gardening and general home help duties such as cleaning / processing laundry, helping to keep the household running smoothly.
(iii) baby sitting from time to time

On our property we also operate a small luxury guest house which can be viewed on the following link (reference #15679(

We are seeking someone with the below attributes / skills:

-Proven demonstrable experience schooling young horses in both dressage and preferably jumping disciplines
-Preferably competition experience in dressage and / or show jumping, as depending on capability there may be an opportunity to compete
-Previous experience with young children (must genuinely enjoy children)
-Honest, reliable, flexible, happy disposition
-Respectful of living within someone else’s home

This opportunity is suited to a traveller from abroad who wishes to embark on a cultural exchange and experience life in a New Zealand family. Previously we have enjoyed hosting individuals from France, Germany, Italy and Scotland.

We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Warm Regards

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use