help exchange   Host 21137
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes, minimum 1 month
Area (ha): 500
Persons: 1 couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21137
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 23, 2016

Blenkinsopp Hall is a big old traditional family home, situated in the middle of rural Northumberland close to Hadrian's Wall.

We are Patrick & Fiona, in our 50's with two labradors, one terrier and a few chickens in the garden. We have two grown-up sons who work and live away from home.

We are looking for two friends or a couple to help organise a large house and grounds. We do not have any stock of our own as most of the farmland is let. but there is always fencing and other jobs to be done on it. There are plenty of jobs both inside and outside the house, especially as our regular home help is off work for some months following a major operation. The work ranges from normal house work and ironing to outdoor estate maintenance work such as preparing firewood, gardening, painting etc...

You will have your own bedroom and bathroom and in exchange we'd expect you to work the equivalent of 4 or 5 hours per day, 5 days per week, so 20 - 25 hours per week, but we are flexible as to when/how that's done. There is internet access and good mobile coverage with O2 and some other providers. We are happy to either cook meals for you, or leave you to prepare your own if that is what you prefer, but providing you with the food.

The house is in a rural setting but there are towns and villages nearby. Our nearest town is Haltwhistle, a 15 minute walk and it has basic shops, a few pubs and good bus and rail links. It is rural but not remote, so there are lots of places nearby to visit.

We would like you to be able to speak enough English language for us to understand each other but we are also happy to help you to improve your English as much as we can. We are not taking home stays under the age of 23, as we feel they would not be mature enough for the responsability.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use