help exchange   Host 21266
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.3 (just under 6 acres)
Persons: 1,2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21266
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2019

Ken and I (we`re English)live in the countryside near Domfront in Basse Normandie (Lower Normandy). We are retired and live here permanently with our cat, five goats, three sheep, two (currently nine - the little “boy” turned out not to be a boy at all) bossy guinea pigs, and some chickens(we did have llamas but they have gone to live somewhere else - not too far to visit though) All are pets or grass cutters, we don`t eat them.

We need some help partly with the garden, weeding, digging, mowing, edging, that sort of thing. Also with the field, the woodlands (small and damp so nowhere near as grand as it sounds) and the animals.
We can probably cope with any one of these but all at once is too much these days!

You will also need to enjoy working with animals and perhaps be happy for example to clean out the sheep hut or the chickens, help keep the goats supplied with hay, help Ken if any fences need repairing, that sort of thing.

Nothing we haven`t and don`t do ourselves - but we are getting older and no longer get round to doing everything that needs doing. We would certainly not be expecting more than a maximum of about 20 - 25 hours a week to be spent working. There would be plenty of time for you to explore the area or generally do your own thing.

We could offer you your own separate guest cottage one up, (twin beds next to each other), one down (put-you-up settee/bed) with radiators and small woodburner, shower room, basic cooking facilities, stereo, dvds, books etc. The cottage is suitable for a couple or two friends or, of course, one person on their own. We have WIFI access in the main house which you are welcome to use (not in the cottage as there are thick stone walls). We would provide lunch and evening meal with us (I enjoy cooking and feeding people!)and breakfast supplies including very fresh eggs as they get laid, tea, coffee, milk, cereal etc in your cottage for you to do your own breakfast.

We live in the middle of beautiful countryside a couple of miles from the nearest village and about four miles from the forest. There are many beautiful walks around. If you have your own transport - superb - otherwise we can lend you bicycles or you`d be welcome to go out with us when we do. If you`re looking for a lively nightlife we are not for you! Though there is a bar open a few times a week with occasional live music and once a week "open mike" nights in the village two miles away.

we have very much enjoyed our time with our previous visitors. If this sounds like you please do contact us. If you have any questions we`d be happy to answer them.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use