help exchange   Host 21433
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Scott
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1-3 max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21433
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 19, 2019

HI travelers, I love plants. I love teaching and talking about plants with visitors. This is a 10 acre permaculture farm with a greenhouse, 1/3 acre pond, and around 250 fruit trees, i.e. heaven on earth. I am a keen observer of nature, and have great love and respect for all. Travelers are a vibrant part of living on the "Patch" as we call it.

We like helpers to stay for 1-3 weeks. Helpers stay in a school bus converted into a guest house with a queen bed and a 360 view of lush gardens. We share a bathroom and kitchen in our trailer, but there is an out door shower and electric kettle in the bus. We typically have a single person or a couple stay at a time, but in April are open to one or two more guests to stay on a tent platform. We make a point to feed our workers well and can reasonably accommodate dietary needs. April is when our mulberries and blueberries come on, and there will basically be an endless berry buffet by the end of April.

The work I need the most help with is maintenance/weeding of the perennial tree systems. This winter 2019 I planted around 200 new young trees which need to be mulched and cared for. I prefer people who can be set on a task and complete it independently. Maturity is a must. Curiosity and interest in plants is a must.

Other tasks include kombucha fermentation, grafting of fruit trees, mushroom log inoculation, composting, bed building, plant nursery care, and propagating plants. I make sure to teach guests all that I can about gardening and permaculture. I'm looking for passionate, positive, motivated helpers looking to learn more about sustainable living. Must love cats, plants, and peeing outside.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use