help exchange   Host 21649
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kaitaia
All Year: depends
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 2 or more: depends
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21649
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2020

Kia ora helpers!
I have a space available from any time now to Wednesday 30th September.
My beautiful home is in the middle of Honeymoon Valley, very private, surrounded by native bush, birds and organic gardens. We built this house from local clay and built green roofs (gardens on the roof).

I need help with landscaping (mowing, brush-cutting, earth work), chopping fire wood, making compost, gardening, renovating (fixing things, basic carpentry, painting), sewing, cleaning, maintenance. I have chickens, bake bread, home-brew beer. When in season I make vinegar, preserve fruit, collect seeds.

The subtropical Far North of NZ is the 'birthplace' of New Zealand/Aotearoa, as we know it today and has significant historic sights and stories. We are 20 min drive from Taipa Beach, Doubtless Bay, 330 km North of Auckland.

I am part of the Honeymoon Valley land-care group. We protect native forest, birds, lizards and insects by trapping predators and eradicating invasive weeds. No dogs, no cats. You need to be independent and have some work/life experience. I have a day job at our local school, but afternoons and weekends we will spend time together. You also can go sightseeing any day during the week.

We exchange 4-5 hours of your time per day for full accommodation and meals (breakfast, sandwich lunch, cooked dinner). If you need extra food (snacks, gluten free, allergies) please bring this with you.

I am happy for you to play our piano, guitars, ukuleles, and drums. I like music (Iistening, singing), nature, films, literature and art. No TV. WIFI ok.

Families with children are welcome; I have plenty of toys from my own children/grandchildren (they do not live here)
Cheers Gerlinde

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use