help exchange   Host 21695
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21695
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 28, 2020

Need garden help for 1-2 weeks at a time starting in March 2020. Summer work is limited.

My home is on the edge of a national forest reserve in one of the most beautiful parts of West Cork. I grow a kitchen garden with greenhouse and a naturalistic garden surrounding the house. It's an exceptional setting looking over an oak forest, with miles of off-road walking trails just outside the door, including the Beara Way walking trail. Glengarriff village is 1.5 miles away with a grocery store, several good pubs, and public bus access to Bantry all year.

I am single, and American and Irish. Because I work at my business full-time during the spring, summer, and autumn, I need help maintaining and improving the garden and some household improvements. I am always keen to host anyoneone who has experience using a strimmer or a chain saw. I also am an AirBnB host and sometimes need help cleaning and preparing the guest room, or taking care of guests.

I'd like 1-2 people, either a mature single or a couple, who can come for 7 to 14 days, to work for 25 hours per week in exchange for room and board. Because of the somewhat remote location of my home, and the fact that I cannot supervise helpers all the time, I have found that the most successful arrangement is for helpers to come as a couple or friends so that they have company. Single helpers are welcome, but only if they are mature enough to work on their own and enjoy time to themselves. I also prefer helpers who have had some experience with gardening. If your English is not fluent, then you must have gardening experience!

The work schedule is often weather dependent, and no matter the season, you can expect rain. It will be tempting to want to take free time off during good weather, but experienced gardeners know that you can't work in wet earth very much, so helpers will have to be flexible with their schedules.

Helpers will enjoy their own room (2 twin beds) and private WC with shower. I'm a good cook and will feed you well and accommodate most dietary needs, although I'm happy to have you cook, too. There is access to Wifi, and a good library of books, CDs and DVDs. This is a strictly non-smoking house (indoor and outdoor).

Helpers will need to be independent and self-motivated. While I am of course interested in helpers and am quite friendly, I won't have much time for lots of socializing, conversation or language training, nor can I accommodate people who like to party a lot.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use