help exchange   Host 22004
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 22004
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2019

Hi. Hubby and I live with our 2 dogs, 2 chickens (we don't need more) and 3 pigs, General George Porker Boar, Skinnypig and Fattpig (pets) in a beautiful rural area of Catalonia surrounded by mountains in an off grid eco friendly house that we built ourselves. Our farm is around 8 acres (40,000 sq metres) growing predominantly Olives (harvested in the wintertime) and Carobs (harvested in the summertime).
At present our garden is a work in progress but we are working on it.
The land on our farm is mainly terraced held back by large dry stone walls all of which date back hundreds of years but which occasionally are in need of a bit of TLC. Thankfully we have the knowledge which we are willing to share if you would like to learn whilst giving us a helping hand at repairing them.

For the most part we try to be as non mechanised as possible, what this means is we use traditional farming methods which folk a hundred or more years ago would be familiar with rather than rely on modern day techniques. My mainstay tools are the Azada, the long handled saw, axes, machetes and last but not least the pick axe. All of which I say are worth their weight in gold here on my farm.

Our farm whilst non organic is maintained as eco as we can possibly make it. Striving as we do to use eco friendly products (if we have to use anything) so that we do as little damage to the environment as possible. I have a motto... 'if all I leave behind me as I pass through this life is my footprint in the sand I will be happy'.
I recycle where I can, use ancient skills whenever, wherever possible.

For the most part maintenance of the Olive and Carob trees as well as harvesting their crops play a large part of what we do over the year as well as maintenance of the land and terrace walls, all of which we would be grateful for a little help with if you are interested.

Our future projects include the fencing in of our land with the idea of raising a few sheep. Mainly for land clearance. You can't beat that for eco management of weeds in my opinion. We have over the past couple of years been busy building shelters either using the natural stone we have on the farm (in abundance might I add) but also earthbags. We have also been busy recycling old pallets for fencing etc. All of which is about as eco friendly as you can get. However, we do have a confession to make, sometimes we do use modern building materials which we actually try to salvage whenever possible so if you don't mind us straying from the path so to speak every now and again then maybe you would like to come and help us.

We live in a 4 bedroom house with our dogs (I tell you this so you know they are indoors and not kept outdoors which has been a problem for a previous volunteer as they didn't think dogs should be in the house, pffft they are family. We can offer to our volunteers the choice of either a Double bed room or the other with 2 single beds and depending on the number of volunteers we have at any one time we are more than happy for you to choose which you would prefer.
As we live off grid we tend to live simply, however this does not mean we don't have all the mod cons. We have indoor plumbing, showers and even a washing machine. Outside we have a covered terrace on which you are more than welcome to sit and enjoy the evening and if you smoke have a cigarette. (we do not allow smoking indoors I am afraid, but honestly sitting out on the terrace is no hardship).
We have a sun terrace on the roof with delightful and breathtaking 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside.
We have internet access, wifi, an above ground pool (available only during the summer months as it is not heated), a tv which we rarely watch to be honest but it does get a few English Freeview channels.

Whilst we are not isolated in the least, we are rural. The nearest village is 2km away, where there are bars, even a restaurant along with a couple of convenience shops. However, it is somewhat sleepy so bear this in mind. The nearest City (although we refer to it as being a town) is 20km where there is a little more going on. There are rail and bus links available to such places as Barcelona and Valencia so you could if you wish visit these places on your days off rather than kick back on the farm. The choice is yours.

Reus airport 40 minutes. Barcelona airport 1 hour 45 minutes. Train station with direct access to Barcelona, Valencia/south of Spain.

Pick up available at local bus or train station.

In return for 5 hours work, 5 days a week we offer, breakfast, lunch and dinner and a very comfortable bed in which to sleep, we even feed you on the days you don't work :)

If you would like we can provide you with a tent for those nights you wish to watch the stars which literally look as if they are diamonds strewn across the sky above our house.

The choice is of course yours.

Whilst we personally are not vegetarians we will happily cater for those of you who are, however, we do eat meat as do our dogs though we do not make a song and dance about it so hopefully it won't be a problem for you.

We ask that you are physically fit and not afraid to either get your hands dirty or a few blisters along the way. If this sounds like you then why not drop us a line.

We ask that you are honest with us regards your ability to speak/understand English. This is due to several people coming here who could not speak a single word of English which as you will understand proved to be a huge stumbling block regards hosting.

We look forward to hearing from you. :)

PS. We are sorry but we cannot accept people to come and stay if they have dogs/pets, this is due to our having dogs of our own who do not share their mountain very well. We hope you understand.

English spoken.

Check out our blog page for a glimpse at what we do..
It needs updating so if you can help me with that, I'd be most grateful.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use