help exchange   Host 22026
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 22026
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 29, 2020

Drop a note if you'd like to organise a stay in 2020. I'll need help in spring for pruning and clearing land of wood cuttings, and in autumn for olive harvesting and pressing.

Who I am:
Deborah, an Italo-American translator in my thirties. I've travelled a lot before settling down here and have worked as a volunteer around Europe. I speak Italian, English, some Spanish and French. I moved to this farm in 2011. I experiment with permaculture and am a member of the Italian Transition movement.

The land...
A hilly ectare's smallholding in central Italy, with mostly olive trees. Besides the olives we have a vegetable garden and chickens. Beautiful views! The house is in the woods but there are other scattered homes nearby and a very active local community, with a CSA-style scheme from which we buy whatever we cannot produce. On the farm we make our own bread, beer, jams, fruit juice, some beauty producs and medicinals, and vegetables and eggs of course! Currently everything is for our own use or informal barter, except for the oil.

What I need:

We ask volunteers to work half-days and try to work together if possible. Saturdays and Sundays are usually free although different arrangements can be sorted out, also depending on the weather.

What I offer:
Accomodation in a large double bedroom, shared kitchen and bathroom or, depending on whether family is also staying at the same time, in a flat with your own bathroom and kitchen. There is a wood stove (and wood), the kitchen runs on gas while the hot water is solar. We share lunch, organic, vegetarian and home-made, and usually also have breakfast and dinner together, but not always (there are plenty of ingredients to make your own meals). Free wifi, no television. No smoking allowed inside the house but absolutely no problem outside. If you need to bring animals check with me... there are two cats here, China and Pralina (I am mentioning this in case you have allergies)

In the vicinity...
Perugia is 10km away but there is not much in the way of public transport. We can arrange lifts, or if you have a car even better. There is plenty to do in the city, a lively college town. Also good for a day trip are Lake Trasimeno, Cortona and Assisi.

reviews (6)
Helper: Mike Ilott Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 1, 2015
Deborah and ale's home and farm were incredible! Their very easy going, kind ... view complete review

Helper: James Neubert Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: December 6, 2014
I recently stayed with Deborah and Alessandro, initially planning to help wit... view complete review

Helper: Aden and Mayu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: December 22, 2013
L'esperienza che abbiamo avuto con Debora ed Alessandro indimenticabile!! ... view complete review

Helper: Gabriel Neuman Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: December 8, 2013
Casina Rabatta, Wonderfull home in the Apenine Forrests. I was the guest o... view complete review

Helper: Eugenia della bella Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: October 28, 2013
The place is wonderful, surrounded by woods but a few miles from the city. Th... view complete review

Helper: Tilman Nadolski Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 16, 2013
I could not have a better Host.Both,Deborah and Alessandro are wonderful peop... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use