help exchange   Host 2225
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1 - 3 people
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2225
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 4, 2020

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children, living on a dairy farm, with polytunnels and raised beds for vegetable growing.

We cater for both vegetarian and non vegetarian volunteers. If they wish, vegetarians can prepare their own meals. Claire is limited in her experience of cooking principally vegetarian food but is learning fast!

We will need people for seed sowing and transplanting in Spring and early Summer. Gerard would also need help sometimes with milking the cows, especially in the mornings. This job is done twice a day During Autumn and Winter, we would be doing some stone clearance, building of walls and paths and some general maintenance of the tunnels etc. /we don`t take people in December as there is little work to be done on the farm at this time.

We have recently converted a farm barn into a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchenette/living room area and a bathroom. It can accommodate up to 3 people, but usually we take 2 people at a time, unless we are particularly busy (during June mainly). We find it is nice for helpers to have some company to work with and have time off with at weekends, exploring the county. We provide food for breakfast and in the evenings, but helpers eat with us, at lunch time in the house.

We live in a rural area, but have towns and picturesque scenery within a short distance of us.

We live 6 miles (10km) from Tralee and 12 miles (18km) from Killarney, which have both bus and train services. There are beaches nearby and many towns to explore within a 20 mile radius (e.g. Killarney, Dingle, Kenmare etc). We also have bikes and helmets which you can use to explore the area if you wish.

People usually tend to stay with us for 1 - 4 weeks. Claire works in Tralee and can drive people into town (Tralee) sometimes, to shop or to use bus or rail transport. We have a daily bus service at the moment, which passes our farm entrance and people can go into Tralee in the morning and back out in the afternoon. We also have an airport 4 miles away which services Dublin and London on a regular basis. Claire usually picks people up from the nearest bus/train station in Tralee.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use