help exchange   Host 22318
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22318
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 25, 2015

My name is Paul. I moved to Asturias in February 2013 after holidaying and travelling around the area a couple of times years before. The beauty of Asturias always blows me away and my first two years here have gone like a flash. If you like the great outdoors, this is the place.

I have a small house and a small straw bale cabin, both of which are livable though fairly basic (I do have hot water, shower and electricity, though they are all somewhat temperamental!).

There's roughly an acre of land which is mostly orchard. there is loads to be done both indoors and out, such as re-wiring, plumbing, full house renovation and decorating, constructing a solar hot water system, preparing the land for vegetables and herbs etc (digging, planting and tending), fencing, building a chicken coop/run, gardening, landscaping and no doubt a whole host of other jobs. I also want to construct a yoga platform as my plan is to run yoga holidays in the future. For now the plan is to get the place up and running for surfing holidays this summer (2015).

I have a ton to learn and it would be great to have people with some skill or experience, particularly construction, though if you are like me and are happy to learn by trial and error that works too.

It would be useful if you have your own transport if you want to explore. The house is fairly isolated, about 8Km from the nearest town (Ribadesella) though there are buses (every two hours) close by. The beach is roughly a 30 minute walk (45 back uphill!) and there are also great walks to be had up from the house with stunning views of the Picos de Europa mountains.

I expect 4-5 hours help a day in exchange for food and accommodation (your own room). And although I enjoy cooking, I prefer this to be a shared activity.

And me, I'm a corporate drop out. Twelve years in an office felt like a lifetime so now I'm starting a new one. I'm open to all sorts of people and enjoy meeting people from varying backgrounds. I love the outdoors, the sea, walking, hiking, climbing, canoeing, cooking, eating and the local cider.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use