help exchange   Host 22522
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pagosa Springs
All Year: mainly spring and fall
Area (ha): 118 ac or ~ 48 ha
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 22522
Region: Mountain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 3, 2020

Right now I need someone helping with fencing and cutting trees for firewood! I have huge trees falling onto the pasture fence. Garden and irrigation work is starting now too. Best a man that likes this work! Have my guest room with balcony for privacy above the barn next to the farmhouse, 3 meals after your choice, 1-2 days off however you wish, I am flexible and like the one helping me to be happy... while time allows maybe riding horses if you like and if you are a good rider... or bring your bike or rafting boat, there is a river and lots of dirt roads, it is beautiful along the river and lake.

I have a Ranch with 12 Icelandic horses, did have some horse breeding, raising, training and now maybe sale some Icelandic Horses, in the south west corner of Colorado, bordering New Mexico Carson Nat. Forest. I am looking for helpers that like to come to the Ranch for working vacations. I am from Switzerland, I speak German and English.
My wish is to find helper-ladies for riding horses, that are already pretty good riders if they like to do the riding as a main thing for training horses. The horses are little so riding is only available if the helper is not too heavy. Important is also that the helper likes to to do ranch work as well as needed. I like helpers that love to work with smaller 5-gaited horses, and do like to work outside all day. After doing chores with animals, there is also maintenance work at the ranch with fencing, chopping wood, irrigation, gardening etc.
For my Icelandic Ponies, see weight limits on my website. I have for the helper a nice little one person bedroom and a bathroom... I offer 3 meals if they do ranch work all day and/or can help training horses. You can help chose from what is in the fridge, and also help with the cooking so that you like the meals. We cook healthy and from scratch. This in exchange to help me feed animals and do the clean up first, then also riding horses, built or fix fences and/or whatsoever other things have to be done at the Ranch and at the moment. This for 6 days a week and Sunday off. You also can have two days off if you like to go places...
There also is plenty ranch work to do for helpers that do not like to ride horses, like irrigation work for the pasture, gardening, splitting and staking wood, move hay, build a new fence, take care of daily chores, or improve the 2. room in the barn loft with electric, cabinets and drywall etc. In the late summer we put up 800 bales of hay and do firewood. Therefore I would like to have a men helper sometimes, unless a women is pretty strong and is used and likes to do that kind of work. I like to have helpers to stay at the minimum for 3-4 weeks up to 2-3 month at a time. Not good for someone allergic to hay, cat- dog- and horse hair. Healthcare and medical travel Insurance that includes adventure sports and activities is a must for any helper, or I will not take them. In addition American helpers that like to ride horses need to sign a wayfer.
Things to do when time off: at the Ranch you can go fishing and/or enjoy the river, hiking, biking, photography lots of wildlife, I give free internet (as long as you do not need too much, no streaming service! I have limited and slow internet/usage with the satellite), read I have lots of German language books here too, help with cooking or baking, or just enjoy some of the 300 sunny days of the year in Colorado. Pagosa Springs is a very pretty and little tourist town, it is a 1 hour drive, there are Hot Mineral Springs, river rafting, biking etc. The river is winding from Pagosa all the way down the pretty valley along the dirt-road to and trough the ranch, then into the Navaho Lake, lake is close by, big Park and BLM Recreation Area all around the lake. Chimney Rock Archeological Area is only 1/2 hour, Tourist town Durango is 1 1/4 hour away, go to Mesa Verde for a daily trip or to Silverton, Old Mining Town. You will need your car if you like to travel...there is no public transportation.
For riding I prefer someone not heavy and from northern Europe like Germany, Switzerland, Austria, England, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Ireland, Iceland, Netherlands, Holland, Denmark or people used to Icelandic horses etc. If I could get someone that already has experience in riding tölt with the Icelandic Horses, I will prefer and spoil the person! Then we could ride out with two younger horses at the time... would be just great! My main goal is to train the younger horses in the gait now. Please contact me no earlier than 2 month ahead of the time you like to come to the ranch. There are lots of pics and a Ranch movie from me and my horses on my website and please feel free to ask questions.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use