help exchange   Host 22647
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ladismith
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 100
Persons: up to two
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 22647
Country: South Africa

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 2, 2014

Our 100ha farm is situated in the semi arid Little Karoo in the Western Cape region of South Africa.
Our dream is to create a retreat for artists and nature lovers on a permaculture and organic small holding. Life on the farm is all about doing things differently and looking after nature and each other.
Our passions include reducing consumption and encouraging personal autonomy and happiness. We expect our volunteers to share some of these passions and to join in with our lively conversations around the dinner table or whilst working.
We have a flock of about 40 chickens that roam freely and are kept for meat and eggs. We grow our own organic vegetables and are developing the gardens along permaculture concepts.
We are also in the process of developing the retreat which involves building and clearing work.
Volunteers must be ok with the remoteness of the farm and be willing to work alone at times. Vegans and couples/friends are very welcome!
The work day is roughly between 7 and 5 and includes breakfast, tea and lunch breaks. 6 hours of work per day, 6 days per week is the general pattern. Whilst we appreciate some contributions to the food cupboard at times, all meals are included. Food is all home cooked and totally additive and sugar free, with very little meat consumed.
We have a satellite wifi internet connection which volunteers can use on their own computers/pads. Accommodation is varied: a comfy room outside the house, camping or try out the new summer accommodation in a simple wooden structure.
The bathroom is shared with the rest of the family inside our home.
Volunteers should be able to take initiative and think creatively; preferably 24+ although we do make exceptions - send us an email!

reviews (2)
Helper: Ana abril Llebeili Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful place and knowledge with me. I'v... view complete review

Helper: Loubser and Lukasz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: South Africa Date: March 17, 2014
Dear Lizelle and Kevin. Thanks so much for allowing us to stay at The Place, ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use