help exchange   Host 22667
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St. Philippe d'Aiguilhe
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5 ha
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22667
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 14, 2020

lI am 88 yrs old still active enough to live in and maintain a restored water mill 8 km. from Castillon-la-Bataille; about a km down hill from the village of St Philippe d'Aiguilhe.
I was an art-history, archeology, and English teacher until my husband and I bought a small vineyard that we worked on with helpers, Woofers, etc., and always enjoyed them.
When my son and family took over the vineyard, we moved to the mill nearby with 5 hectares of woods and meadows.
Now, on my own, I need help in preparing the vege and flower gardens for winter in November and particularly January-March, bringing in wood for heating and keeping small trees, branches and brambles from invading the meadows. I often need general repairs around an old stone house. A driver's licence is essential so you can drive my car wherever needed.
You would have an independent "studio apt." with double bed, kitchen facilities and bathroom. I can provide meals if need be and for vegetarians though I'm not one. I go regularly to Monday Market in Castillon, supplemented by vegetables from the garden.
The mill pond and row boat are pleasant in warmer weather and I've an excellent library when it rains.There are interesting things to see and good walks in the surrounds; a cat and possibly a new dog soon.
I do have wifi but there is no television or radio. You can e- mail or telephone (please leave a message if I don't answer, I'm often outside). English is my usual language though I do speak French. Non smokers preferred.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use