help exchange   Host 22868
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Coldwater
All Year: All Year
Area (ha): 50 Acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22868
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2019

We have been welcoming Canadian and international travelers for almost 5 years, and have had some wonderful times, and developed lasting friendships along the way. We truly enjoy sharing our lives, our family and our love, and are grateful for the benefits these opportunities bring as well as committed to working through some of the challenges that crop up as strangers become friends.

We are looking for someone who would like to spend winter 2019/2020 at our home.


Skills and experience are not as important to us as a willingness to learn and a keen interest in taking an active part in our lives, and in what we do. We are working towards being self sustained. We would love to have you stay with us.

If you can use a chain saw, or know a little carpentry, masonry, general maintenance, some electrical knowledge. Come on over.

If you can stay 3 weeks or 3 months that would be great. We will feed you at least two great meals a day, a comfortable bed to sleep in and lots of family fun and great conversations. We are not a big farm, but there are a few things that we need some help with. Please give us a call/email if you are available.

Lots of chores around the house and property. Sheba is our beautiful black lab cross dog, is cute and cuddly but very strong. Also Howler our Trukish Akbash/lab cross both are very friendly and protector of everyone who lives here.

There is lots to see and do in this area. Boat cruises, fishing, sightseeing are just a few of the many available things. In winter snowshoeing,snowboarding skiing etc. Mount St Louis and Horseshoe Valley Ski hills are short distances away.

We are a NON-SMOKING home, lots of good cooking, a very relaxed atmosphere. My husband built this house in 1977 on south leaning slope.

There are 4 bedrooms & 3 washrooms, a walk out basement internet & satellite TV.
We live near 3 towns the smallest Coldwater (1200)
the largest Barrie (125000 people)near the beautiful Geogian Bay off Lake Huron.
Long term stay is definately preferable. Short term- minimum 3 weeks would be preferred.

We are also Foster Parents and do require a Police Check/Certificate which should include Vulnerable Screening information on file from anyone wishing to stay in our home as a request from the Childrens Aid Society who places the children in our home.

We need help in cutting trees, weed wacking and opening up the property. Duties could include organizing, cleaning, cleaning up dead falls, stacking firewood and some small construction projects.
We desperately need the help from helpers with helping willing hands.

Become part of our family away from yours.

reviews (12)
Helper: Vanessa maria Schuh Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: August 7, 2017
Dear Reinhold and Jeannette, I am so thankful, that you hosted me for 3 we... view complete review

Helper: Abdelmoula Medioubi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: May 22, 2017
Reinhold and Jeannette, I know this is a very very late review! Here we go. ... view complete review

Helper: Valentin Larasser Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 17, 2015
I stayed with Jeannette and Reinhold for 4 weeks. They are a really nice and... view complete review

Helper: Lukas Benjamin Bastong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 13, 2015
I stayed at Reinhold’s and Jeannette’s farm about 2 months. I really enjoyed ... view complete review

Helper: Sophie and Isabella Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: March 11, 2015
We stayed with Reinhold and Jeannette for two weeks. They are both funny and ... view complete review

Helper: Teyen Widdicombe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: October 15, 2014
Reinhold and Jeanette were lovely to stay with, and went way out of their way... view complete review

Helper: Václav Kubánek Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: September 21, 2014
First time helpX-ing? Afraid of everything and have no clue where to start? Y... view complete review

Helper: Marion and Florian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 15, 2014
Really a great experience.Reinhold and Jeannette are a nice and friendly coup... view complete review

Helper: Anja and Sabrina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 21, 2014
We did House Sitting for three weeks and we met them before. They knew anoth... view complete review

Helper: Tina and Renzo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 16, 2013
It was our first helpX experience and we are glad that we made it in their ho... view complete review

Helper: Héctor DELGADO Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: September 26, 2013
This couple is so nice! They're very very helpful, affectionate and funy. I... view complete review

Helper: Lingxi Gu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: September 2, 2013
Reinhold and Jeannette Janas are both kind and sweet!They are always w... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use