help exchange   Host 22894
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Darkan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22894
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 11, 2018

My name is Kathleen, I live near a small country town of Darkan in Southern Western Australia, making permaculture garden beds to grow organic food as an expression of life style, not for commercial enterprise. so routine is varied and flexible.

UPDATE: OCTOBER Summertime is nearly here, a good time to be outside! You can learn to do things in the garden, use tools to build something, watch movies, cook or bake cakes. Currently no vegetable gardens due to water issues.

I offer an almost self contained loft/bedroom for free accommodation and meals in exchange for general help around my home and property. This may include gardening, cooking, building, cleaning and helping with any ongoing projects like light building or constructing of garden beds, retaining walls, shade house, cleaning gutters or putting in fence posts. All tools and machinery are available if you are confident and competent with their use.

Volunteers are welcome to cook or share their cuisine and items needed for this are available (Indian, Asian, Mexican, Italian and some African) including grains, spices and sauces. Light breakfasts and lunch with an evening meal of Vegan, vegetarian or meat meals supplied. BYO treats-chips or snack foods. Sometimes I don't feel like cooking and expect guest to be able to prepare a light meal for themself. Shared cleaning up after meals is expected.

Satellite TV, Wifi, books and musical instruments are available for entertainment. Social drinking/smoking is acceptable, BYO.

Cultural exchanges of meals are welcome as a learning experience, Language exchange of English for Chinese would be good also.

In this rural settings guest will have the opportunity to learn new skills from a hands on perspective or with machines and tools usually to do with gardening or building.

Assistance with local and Interstate transport arrangements and the opportunity to do day trips by car in the South of Western Australia or to go camping in summer.

I would enjoy volunteers to be quiet minded, interested in nature and natural things, have a little sense of humor, be honest and trustworthy. Willingness to communicate and participate in daily activities is favourable.

As a leg amputee, l often scoot about to do work in a wheelchair and also walk on an artificial leg.

Short 10 day or longer would be welcome if suitable and mutual. I look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use