help exchange   Host 22949
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Madeira Park
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.7
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22949
Region: BC, South Western

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 20, 2017

Hello,

We are looking for a helper to come join us on the beautiful Sunshine Coast, located a 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver area and a 1 hour drive up the coast. We have a 14 acre, ocean-front property and require help renovating the house and landscaping the forested grounds around it.

In return, you are welcome to use our ocean kayaks, rowboat, and bike, to explore the ocean and coast. You will have our large trailer to yourself, and can join us for meals.

Jan is a property manager and wood-worker.
If you have any special skills associated with building, gardening, landscaping, boat or engine work, etc, we would be particularly interested in having you. This is physical work at times, though if you enjoy spending your time in the outdoors, with a beautiful view, you will enjoy it.

Please take note that Madeira Park is not a large city (3,500 people in the winter, about 10,000 in the summer) and it gets quiet around here. It would be best appreciated by someone who enjoys a quieter paced life, and would like to spend time off hiking, swimming, boating, fishing, exploring an artistic and unique coastline of towns, or relaxing in nature.
In addition to the ocean, there are many lakes nearby. We also have 2 dogs and cat.

You will be expected to work 28 hours a week, which we can work out how you would like to accomplish this (ie: 4 hours a day for 7 days, or longer days fewer times a week, etc.). You will work independently or at times with either of us. You will be part of the family while staying, and therefore help with meals and dishes would be appreciated. We prefer longer-term stays, with a probation period of three days to start, to ensure that we will both enjoy our time together. No drugs or smokers please. We are a quiet, polite couple and would expect you to have manners and respectfullness.

Madeira Park is a beautiful place to visit, home to much wildlife, with eagles and seals living in our bay, and deer and elk in our forest. We experience much milder weather than the rest of Canada. Our 25 is year old daughter currently lives with us, and our other three daughters visit from time to time. We are both very busy with work, so extra help on the property would be very much appreciated!

At the moment we are working on: endless vegetable garden planting, weeding, watering, and care; preparing our trailer and tiny house for future vacation rentals; building a stone wall for our herb garden,building a gazebo over our hot tub, painting shingles and siding; cleaning up the property for the summer; getting our assortment of boats cleaned, painted, fixed up and in the water; (and more!).

If this sounds like something you might enjoy, send us an email telling us about yourself, when you might like to stay, and any special skills you might have to offer.

We look forward to hearing from you!



Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use