help exchange   Host 23335
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Mar- Nov
Area (ha):
Persons: Up to 5 people
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23335
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 20, 2019

Looking for helpers to work in the garden two couples or four friends.Ideally looking for people with some experience of gardening and growing vegetables but not essential.Please be aware it does involve a lot of weeding not hard work but not `exciting`.
Also removing scrub brambles and larger weeds, laying gravel and repairing pathways.

Anyone with chain saw experience or tree surgeon would be very useful.

Places available from now age 25 plus,we don`t accept families or children. We have two double bedrooms and an extra bed that share and Ensuite bathroom. We can take up to 5 friends at a time.

We live in the Langhe area of Piemonte, surrounded by vineyards our nearby town of Alba is home to Ferrero and is famous for white truffles.
Asti is about 30 mins drive.

Barbaresco is a short drive and Barolo about 20 mins.We are very rural own transport is recommended if you want to get out and about independently. Some buses to/ from Alba with bus stop about 1 mile. Trains from Asti and Alba.We have two bicycles you are welcome to use but the area is very hilly.If you are looking for tranquility and somewhere to relax this is for you, if you seek nightlife and hustle bustle it is not for you.

The lakes, Milano, Torino, Med coast, Portofino, Cinque Terre and Monaco are easily accessible from here.

We have an old farmhouse with large garden and vegetable patch for which we need general help at various times.Other tasks include chopping wood, kindling, weeding, watering, pruning, laying gravel, dry wall building, and general maintenance.

We also have an under ground natural water collection area which is in a cave under the pool terracing. We would like to dry stone under here and would welcome anyone with experience in stone work.We use this water for the new veg patch.

We are both English retired from the UK, my husband (69)was a sales director and I (52) was in the catering industry. We have two grown up children each and currently just my daughter Sophie (22)lives with us.

We have just installed photo voltaic panels to generate our own electricity, use our own rainwater and grow our own food where possible.The pool is cleaned by ultra violet light and only uses a small amount of chlorine.

We all speak English, Peter and I speak some French and Italian and Sophie speaks fluent Italian. Peter speaks Portuguese.

We are also experienced home exchangers and enjoy welcoming new people to share our home and lifestyle.

We do not smoke would prefer non smokers but do not mind some smoking outside away from the dining areas etc.

We have a small dog and that was a stray she decided we were a good place to make her home.

4 hrs work per each nights stay in return for 3 meals per day ,main meal is in the evening, and accommodation. Please be aware this means that if you dont work any hours on your day of arrival you need to spread those hours over the other days. We are however flexible with hours and it is possible to do extra hours to have a free day etc but after a bad experience you need to be ahead with your hours before having the time off. Two Double bedrooms , extra pull out bed and ensuite shared bathroom.We ask you leave your room clean and tidy when you depart. Fresh food from the garden where possible and all home cooked meals prepared for you, we just expect you to do the washing/ drying up etc after lunch and dinner.Please also advise of any food intolerance/ allergies / preferences at the start of discussion and not just before you arrive.Strict diets can not be catered for as this has caused too much additional extra work in the kitchen at busy times.
The idea is that you join into our lifestyle and we are not expected to alter our routine to accommodate helpers.

We can collect / return you to the train station in exchange for work by negotiation.
Please bring working gloves sensible shoes and old clothing for working in the garden.

We can always find something than needs to be done and cannot envisage a time when we are without any jobs to do! availability only subject to room being free from friends and family visiting.

Use of internet and swimming pool (when open),







We are now looking to arrange helpers for next year, we prefer to agree a week at first but it may be possible to extend this.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use