help exchange   Host 23532
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23532
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2018

Hi, Iím Fred. Iím 38 years old and Iíve been studying several foreign languages for a few years. I have low intermediate Spanish, French and Italian, and lower Russian.

Iíll happily host native speakers of these languages for 1-4 weeks at a time, in exchange for a few hours language practice per day. I can only host 1 person at any time.

I`m looking for easy-going, sociable, happy and open people who want to experience cultural Liverpool and who will want to get to know whoever is living in the house at the time.

You must be a native speaker of Russian, Spanish, French or Italian. If you`re a speaker of Russian, you`ll need to have a high level of English. If you`re a speaker of Spanish, French or Italian, it`s not so important.

Helpers will be required to help me with learning their mother tongue, but you will have plenty of free time. Language practice will be for approximately 2-3 hours each day. Even when we`re not practising, I would prefer to communicate in your language, so this is NOT a language exchange. If you wish to improve your English with your host, this isn`t the right placement for you. It might be quite boring, repetitive work. It will involve grammar and vocabulary revision and general chat. I basically need volunteers to be able to speak about anything. You must be the sort of person who can comfortably make conversation. If you are quiet or awkward, you will be of no use to me.

I can offer any visiting helpers a room with a bunk-bed and bed-linen. It`s possible that there would also be another guest on the other bunk, but in this case I would let you know beforehand, and I would never expect guys and girls to share a room.

I can provide toast/cereal/tea/coffee for breakfast, stuff for sandwiches for lunch, and a proper hot meal in the evenings, but I am vegetarian, so you would have to make do with vegetarian food.

The house is situated 2 miles from Liverpool city centre, in the neighbourhood of Kirkdale. The neighbourhood is far from interesting and far from glamorous, but Liverpool is very centralised, so not much happens outside of the city centre. There arenít any good shops or bars in the neighbourhood. There is a supermarket roughly 15 minutes away on foot.

However, the house is very well placed for quick, cheap and frequent public transport into the city centre, which is about 10 minutes away on the bus (bus-stop outside the house), or 10 minutes on the metro (metro station about 10 minutes walk from the house). A return ticket to the city centre on the metro costs £1.90. A return on the bus/ day ticket costs £3.90.


The house isn`t a palace; itís fairly old and tired in places. It`s also ridiculously full of furniture and other stuff, so it does feel very full. The kitchen and bathroom are quite basic.

Housemates come and go, but there will only be one other permanent housemate at any time. There may not be anyone else.


The house has gas central heating and a radiator in every room, but it`s an old place and it can get quite cold in the winter months, so this is probably NOT the best environment for someone who is particularly sensitive to the cold.

For any more information about anything, contact me anytime.


Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use