help exchange   Host 23619
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23619
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 29, 2014

I am a writer that lives on a small 40acre (16 hectares) bush block near Cranbrook by myself with my two cats. I would be happy to have people assist with my property and in return I could provide basic accommodation which right now is having your own room in the house.

My house is a small stone cottage on the banks of the Gordon River on the Albany Highway. There is a beautiful solitude about the place and plenty of opportunity to bush walk and enjoy the cool clime especially with all the many beautiful and even rare wildflowers that grow on the property.

Nearby are the wonderful Stirling Ranges and the Porongorups--both significant Aboriginal sites
as well as Bluff Knoll aka Bulah Meyal (many eyes) not only the tallest point in WA and well worth the 4 hour walk to the top but also a very important Aboriginal site. All these places I am happy to drive my guests to.

Around this area in Cranbrook, Frankland and Mt Barker are many vineyards which offers work from February to April picking grapes and June July pruning vines (a specialised job)Again given time I am happy to visit these places with my guests.

At the moment I'm working a lot. This means it would be difficult for me to find time to prepare meals for us all except at night time maybe. I'd provide the food and we'd all pitch in for preparation.

I'd be looking for 20 hours week assistance and can be flexible on that. The work I am doing is mainly maintenance of farm buildings, woodwork, gardening and house keeping, especially keeping the house clean.

Note: because I'm on a farm this would best suit someone with own transport or I could meet them at the bus drop off in nearby Cranbrook.

The bus also leaves from Cranbrook for the two biggest towns Albany and Katanning every day. But I go to Albany once a month for supplies and once a fortnight--the 2nd time incorporating Albany as well or sometimes Denmark and helpers are welcome to come on these journeys.

Being of Aboriginal descent--even though a way back--I do not tolerate racists but otherwise all are welcome...

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use