help exchange   Host 23643
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Merrygoen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1250
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23643
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 10, 2017

A sheep, beef cattle a cropping property in the central west of NSW………....

We are a busy family farm, that takes pride in the quality of our produce that is exported to the dinner plates of the world.

We like our helpXers to stay for about 2 weeks, but most have changed their plan and stayed a bit longer.


We look forward to hosting travellers that are keen to help on our farm. We enjoy showing you what and how we do our work here and really enjoy your help so that we can knock off earlier and enjoy a beer. Some days are really busy and long, but other days are easier and we can take the time teaching you new skills as we work. EG welding, operating tractors and bikes or maybe the bigger trucks.

We joined helpX in August 2013, but have had great experiences with travellers before. Jan 2017…. we have had 11 helpXers now and all have been great experiences. You will mostly work with us on any number of jobs, but also on projects by yourself. These will include working with stock, fence repairs, building maintenance, weed control, assist at harvest or planting, whatever is happening at the time. Help in the garden and vegie garden would also be appreciated. We will find stuff to do equal to your level of ability, but you will leave here with skills that you didn't know you had!

You will stay in our home and get all meals. Our home is quite large and comfortable, and we have a pool. We will include you in activities away from the farm that we are involved in, and make sure your experience is as rewarding as the effort you put in and enjoy a beer with us at the end of the day. Work will average 4 or 5 hours a day, swap a full day on for a full day off and away exploring. Sometimes we are working 7 days a week, but that does not mean you will be. This is an arrangement of mutual respect.

We do have horses here, but I cannot promise any riding. An experienced rider may get a job exercising horses. Otherwise, they are around to be enjoyed..... they love a pat! .. and so do the dogs and the cats!!

The shack in the bush is not HelpX accommodation , but is good for an overnight camp amongst the wildlife, plenty of kangaroos wallabies wombats and lots of birds.

We have travelled ourselves in France and England, and Pip is keen to improve her French. We are a relaxed fun family, keen to learn your culture and lifestyle also.

Getting here is fairly easy, train/bus from Sydney to our doorstep. Buses run from Newcastle. we can help you find your way.

We have wifi available (within reason) and Skype.
Telstra and Optus work well, Vodaphone is ok?!

reviews (7)
Helper: Sonja Boneberger Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 17, 2015
I was lucky with my first HelpX experience at Pip and Simon's place. From the... view complete review

Helper: Steven ventura Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 26, 2015
How can I say that... Simon and Pip are probably the best people I met in Aus... view complete review

Helper: Adam and Ellie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 31, 2014
Our time at Moronga will be one of our most cherised memories of Australia. A... view complete review

Helper: Laurine and Remy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 12, 2014
First of all, we should have write this review for ages, apologies for this. ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Timothy Footdale Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 2, 2014
Simon and Pip were excellent first hosts for me and I stayed for three weeks.... view complete review

Helper: Daryl McNeilly Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 12, 2013
I spent two weeks on this fantastic farm property with Simon & Pip, their son... view complete review

Helper: Fabien Peckel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: November 6, 2013
Hi Pip and Simon, Wil and Emily, Sorry for the late review! So what can I... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use